DARLING DAUGHTER’s Quilts

baby quilt 1-ee

.

.

.

baby quilt 2-owls-ee

.

.

.
These are the two quilts my daughter made for her girlfriends who are having babies this summer. She designed them herself after I taught her how to do a few simple techniques. She does pretty good and has improved a lot from the first quilt she made. She still does not sew a good quarter inch seam.. ..her blocks are usually off size but she square up her blocks and makes them fit. My big concern is her seams are often too small and I worry that they will fall apart. We have discussed it several times and I realize I just have to let it go … I am teaching her how to FMQ so I think someday she will realize for herself the importance of good workmanship and construction. I do not want to turn into the quilt police or turn her off of quilting by being critical… I really love the designs she comes up with as they are truly hers and she loves to just play with fabric. I have been backing off and letting her work it out for herself but try and be available when she does need the help….

WISH ME LUCK,
HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

.

.

.

2 thoughts on “DARLING DAUGHTER’s Quilts

  1. That quarter inch is tricky for a beginner. I had a quilt come apart in the wash…I was devastated. It was my first attempt at a one block wonder, and my daughter washed it on a regular cycle and the washer twisted and pulled at every seam. I took that quilt apart and fixed nearly every seam. Then I FMQ all over it in hopes it would stay together better. (It was TIED before….never again!). My 1/4 ” was lousy. I bought a 1/4″ foot for my machine after that!! It was really heartbreaking to see something you worked so hard on (2 months!!) come apart on the first washing. Now, I NEVER give a quilt that I haven’t washed first!! I like the 1/4″ foot that has the BLADE on it. I have one for my old Brother 6000ci and one for my new Janome 8900. Also found an “in the ditch” attachment for my walking foot that has a similar blade, keeps you straight and steady! As far as the daughter, she will learn as she goes like I did. Share my experience with her please. Take her to a quilt bee / guild class / quilting class at the local quilt shop for a Mother-Daughter experience. Wish my girls were interested enough to tag along with me. 🙂

    1. My DD is 27 yr old and as stubborn as a mule… until now she has been in college classes and could not take sewing classes… She became interested in quilting after watching me and when she needed baby quilts as gifts…. She knows she is suppose to sew a quarter inch seam but her does not always manage it and does not believe in ripping out … SHE has gotten much better when I refused to fix her mistakes … and will not FMQ her quilts unless she has done so…. This is also the reason she is now learning to FMQ…

      WORKS for us… Mother / Daughter relationship can be so challenging….
      .
      .

Leave a Reply

