BLOCK BY MANY NAMES

ROSE DREAM

ENDLESS CHAIN

BROKEN SQUARE

TRUE LOVER’s KNOT

LOVER’s KNOT

LOVER’s BOWTIE

BARBARA BRACKMAN ENCYCLOPEDIA   pages 198-199, block #1532

 

A confession, I have never been able to sew a curved block to save my soul.  I decided to do something about that lack in my quilting education.   I signed up for a class at my favorite local quilt shop, SEW CRAZY IN LAPEER.   The class was taught by my friend Mary.  She is a talented, prolific quilter, who makes beautiful quilts.   She was an excellent teacher who was able to explain and demonstrate the steps so they were easily understood and accomplished.  She also gave us tips (learned from her making quilts using these same blocks) to make the cutting, piecing and pressing easier.  Since I have never been successful with sewing curved blocks before I found the tips helpful for my success.

The cutting of the patches took time and patience.   I think if I make this quilt, I will want to track down templates for this block.   I have contacted John Flynn’s company to see if they have laser cut acrylic templates.  Another method of getting this block made is to make a print out on a full sheet sticker of the block patterns.  I will then take it to my local glass guy and they will cut them for me.  I have done this in the past when I could not find templates on line.  If you ever go this route make sure your print outs are accurate as some printers skew objects in a print out. 

I found the hardest part of assembling the entire block was deciding how to press the patches so they will nest when you butt the seams together.  I found it very easy to get my seams flipped so the block did not lie flat.  I started out pressing the seam allowances to the dark but then the other seams in the block would not align properly when I started sewing the patches together.  I am going to have to make more blocks before I can decide if there is a consistent and accurate method to press the seams. 

This is going to be a LONG -TERM project.  Once I get my templates I will cut out blocks in groups of ten from my red and white stash fabrics.  I am not planning to be over concern with being matchy with the whites or the red fabrics.  I love the red and white quilts I saw in the book RED AND WHITE QUILTS: INFINITE VARIETY   but I have no intention of buying new fabrics.  I am going to use what I have from my stash and hopefully it will be a more meaningful quilt. 

 

If you are interested in making a similar style quilt I found instructions for the block and a free pattern at, QUILT in a Day.

https://www.quiltinaday.com/imgs/facebook/september/RoseDream.pdf

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

.

.

Leave a comment