Looking for Inspiration

Frederik Meijer Garden and Sculpture Park
1000 East Beltline Ave, Grand Rapids MI
616-957-1580

I spent the day wandering through the garden and art galleries of Frederik Meijer Garden and Sculpture Park. I have not enjoyed myself as much as I have today in years. My daughter and I took my 2 year old grandson and just wandered around viewing the art works and gardens. I loved viewing everything from the eyes of a child. He was into everything… especially the things he should not touch. We went to a tasting of heirloom tomatoes and I thought he would just spit them out… but he ATE THEM. I could tell which ones he liked and those he disliked. We wandered through the children’s garden playing on the drums, and cymbals. There were dozen of interactive areas we could hardly get him to leave. He poo pooed the fancy art but took delight in small details… bugs, leaves, flowers.

I will be posting more pictures once I get home to my regular computer. I have several pictures that I am planning to use in a quilt project. I spent the afternoon being inspired on several levels. Here are a few pictures to share.

2 foot bronze statue proto-type
American Horse fuplicated from an original design by Leonardo Da Vinci
My Grandson's favorite sculpture
Against a Autumn Michigan Sky
Leave a Reply

