TILTING A BLOCK …. for Frances ( Off Kilt Quilt)

Wonky Shoo Fly 8 inch block plus rectangle for making wedges

 

Using scraps from the charity quilts I winged a WONKY SHOO FLY BLOCK. I made my block using 3 inch left over block. The finished block was squared up to 8 inches. Frances’ blocks were cuter. I then cut a rectangle using the formula:

 

Block width plus the HEIGHT of the wedge; plus 3 to 4 inches for the length of the rectangle.

 

I used three inches because I had three inch strips. If I had to do this again I would use a larger rectangle, probably FOUR INCHES. I think it would have resulted in a larger block that allowed better squaring up and a better tilt.

 

Length of Wedge= 8 inch block + 3 inch height of wedge + 3 to 4 inches =14 inches
Wedge size = width of block + height of wedge + four inches

I actually used 13 inches x 3 inches for my wedges because I used left overs from other projects. If I repeat this technique in the future I would make my wedge longer using the 4 inch from the formula.

 

Wedge is cut on the diagonal
Cutting the wedge on the diagonal; my grandson took the picture.

 

Stack your fabric wrong sides together. YOU will need 4 rectangles but you make two sets wrong side together and stack them on top of each other. The wedge is cut on the diagonal.

 

Cut your wedges by cutting on the diagonal of a rectangle.
Match your 90 degree angle wedges. ONE set will be for a right tilt the other for a left tilt.

 

Once your wedges are cut; sort them placing like 90 degree angle on top of each other. One set of wedges will give you a left tilt …. the other set will give you a right tilt block.

 

Match the 90 degree angle; then sew the partial seam for the first wedge.

 

Match the 90 degree angle putting right side together. Sew a partial seam starting at the larger 90 degree angle. Leave the last 3 to 4 inches un-sewn.

Line up the wedges … Note where the 90 degree angle is.

Line up your block and wedges. Please note this is a left tilt block. The right tilt blocks line up differently. I will be making a right tilt block in the future and I will post pictures of the line up, similar to today’s pictures.

Sew in a counter clock wise pattern. Wedge two is on the right hand side of the block.

The wedges are sewn in a counter clock on a LEFT TILT BLOCK. Block two is sewn to the right side of the block. Block three will be sewn on the top of the block; note where the 90 degree angle is on the block and the wedge. PRESS AS YOU GO after each wedge is sewn.

 

Third wedge is lined up, sewn and then pressed open.
Line up the Fourth Wedge then sew

The fourth wedge is sewn on the left hand side of the block. Sewing the partial seam finishes the block.

 

Finish sewing the partial seam then press the block.

Carefully press your block.

 

Square up ALL your blocks to the same size block

Once all my blocks are finished for my project, I would square up all my blocks to the same size as they are over- sized. Squaring up the blocks allow for easier assembling of the quilt top.

 

10-1/2 inch block after squaring -left tilt

This is my finished block. It measures 10-1/2 inch in size.

 

I will be posting pictures of a right tilt block in the future. Instead of assembling the block counter clock wise; it is assembled clock wise. The 90 degree angle is placed in a different corner.

 

I will be refining the directions in this blog, as it it is 3am and I am getting punchy. If you have any questions leave a comment or email me.

NONNIE

 

7 thoughts on “TILTING A BLOCK …. for Frances ( Off Kilt Quilt)

  1. Pingback: Stars Hollow Quilt
    1. wow … I am in the process of re posting this thread as it is only for tilting in one direction. I want the block directions to show tilt in both directions. I also have seen try tilting blocks for several different blocks and found that if you increase the tilt patch by 2 to 2.5 inches larger than the size of your block it made for better tilt with more variety and easier time squaring up the block to the correct size needed ….. SO STAY TUNED.

  2. Thank you both, I did find today when I played with the wedges that I liked making the rectangle bigger. Instead of the three inches by 12 inches I originally used I made my rectangle larger 4 inches by 14 inches.

    This resulted in a more fabric at the small size of the wedge and gave me a bigger block to square up. I got to play with the tilt a little.

    Also when doing the right wedges… I went clock wise when I sewed them on. I think the secret is to always match the 90 degree angles.

    NONNIE

  3. Hi Nonnie. I like this block. I think it turned out really well and enjoyed the fabrics you used. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment