VARIATION STAR BLOCK

Variable Star Quilt Block ( 12.5 inch )

Found another STAR block to use in our guild STAR BLOCK CHALLENGE. I am making a quilt from the MIDNIGHT QUILT SHOW on You Tube.

MIDNIGHT QUILT SHOW .. VARIABLE STAR QUILT

I often make a trial block when I am using a new/ different technique. Since we are making STARS for the guild challenge I decided to make a block using fabric selected for the challenge. If the block turns out okay I plan to donate to the challenge.

 

10 INCH BLOCKS of 2 background fabrics, and two focus fabrics of your choice.

YOU can make your HsqTri patches any way you want, but I used the method shown on YOU TUBE and I give the measurements for that technique.  The measurements can be used so you can figure out how to make the block using your favorite methods. 

NOTATION:  STARCH THE HECK OUT OF YOUR FABRIC … I LIKE MINE AS STIFF AS PAPER … MAKES THE CUTTING EASIER AND KEEPS THE PATCHES NICER THROUGH OUT THE PROJECTS.

Match a focal fabric with a second fabric then with the background patch.  ( See picture.)

Sew around the 10 inch patches with a generous quarter inch. The half square triangles will square up to 3.5 inch units.
I am showing where I will be cutting on the diagonal… ALL I have to say is BEWARE OF THE BIAS !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SEW around the block using a generous quarter inch seam.  This is an over sized block and you will be trimming the HsqTri patches to 3. 5 inches.   

I marked the diagonals to show where I will be cutting the sewn patches to make the HsqTRIs.  REMEMBER the outsides of the block is on the BIAS and will distort if handled roughly.

PRESS the triangles open then square to 3.5 inches.

 There will be 3 sets of FOUR half square triangles.  They need to be squared to 3.5 inches.  As I said earlier these patches were over sizes so you have at least a quarter of an inch of fabric to trim off.  

When pressing your triangles BE SURE TO SET THE SEAM then open the triangle.  I pushed the seams to the dark side, but I found that sometimes I had to reverse the seam press in order to get the intersections to lock. 

 It is up to YOU to decide if you want to press your seams to one side or to press open all the seams.  IT IS IMPORTANT WHAT EVER METHOD YOU USE YOU ARE CONSISTENT.    ( Watch out for burned fingers when you press open your seams.)

SQUARE the patch to 3.5 inches
3.5 inches square … I use tape to help me find my sizes … be sure to put the ruler angle on the diagonal of the half sq triangle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Once all your half sq triangles are squared up lay out your block.  I did not mention earlier you will need 4 patches of 3.5 inches of your background fabric for the corners.

Lay out the block and sew the units together in the way that you prefer.

 

I like sewing the pinwheel first then I add the star points on the side.  I sew the top and bottom rows adding the 3.5 inch patches on the ends of the star points.  I press as sew each section together.

 

 

 

I like to sew my center pinwheel together adding the star points next .I sew the top  row together ,  then the bottom row,  I then assemble the rows.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 Surprise, surprise my block came out to the correct 12.5 inch block ( 12 inch finished)   I do not think I will have any cut off points. 

SQUARE UP TO 12.5 INCHES watch out for the star points.
12. 5 INCHES … off to the guild challenge it goes!

This block took two hours to make …. because I was taking pictures of the process…. the other blocks I made using this method was a lot faster… but not as fast as ANGELA WALTERS.

*********************************************************

I have been sewing a lot this past couple of weeks.  I did Darla’s, the Scientific Quilter’s March along.  I started sewing 15 minutes a day but that usually stretched into an hour or two so I have made progress on my quilt projects… not my UFOs very much but the quilts I have started assembling since January.   I need to sew binding on my daughter’s quilt then I will have a finish. 
HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

