TILTING BLOCKS TO THE RIGHT —

I wrote a blog post with how to tilt blocks to the left in FEBRUARY … I have posted links to that blog post here.

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2017/02/06/tilting-blocks-to-the-left/

TILTING BLOCKS TO THE LEFT

 I am going to first give instructions on how to do a TILT A BLOCK TO THE RIGHT ….. Then I am going to rant about the quilt I am using these blocks in.  The quilt is driving me NUTS….. I LOVE THE LOOK of quilt …. but getting it made is going to drive me to drink.

Make yourself a map of the block layout.

 

The map make it easier to chain piece your block without getting them mixed up.   The directions in the pattern said to make the rectangle 5-3/4 inches in length by 2 inches wide.  I found that my blocks came out better when I increase the rectangle to 6 inches by 2.5 inches.  This gave me more fabric above the corners of the block and made the squaring up easier to accomplish without trying to cut thru multiple layers at the corner. 

NOTATION:  I have discovered after investigating multiple patterns with tilting blocks, the rectangles need to be cut to 2 to 2-1/2 inches larger than your block size.   In this case, my block is 4 inches finished therefore rectangle size should be 6 to 6.5 inches.   The width of the rectangles should be at least a third to a half larger … for this 4 inch block the instructions said 2 inches was adequate but I found 2 -1/2 inch rectangles worked better.   I am experimenting with designing a template for the wedges without the waste of fabric.   That would be something that would need to be designed for individual tilting blocks.

PICTURE to be added here…..

I put my patches on the map. This allows me to chain piece quickly without getting mixed up.

 

It pays to be organized when making the tilting blocks.

right angle from the wedge is placed at the center of the 9 patch

Taking  wedge flip it so it is ready to sew.  THE right angle should be placed on the mid- point of the patch you are sewing your wedge too.  The slanted portion of the wedge is aligned to the upper portion of the NINE PATCH.  You then sew the wedge to the nine patch.  I sewed the patches from the 9 patch side, so that I could keep the seams from flipping on the nine patch. 

 

Repeat flipping the wedge placing the right angle on the mid point of the nine patch. The angled cut is once again placed at the top of the nine patch

 I sew these blocks in sets of four … I  continue sewing around the block … wedge two, then three and at last wedge four when chain piecing.  Be sure to press wedges up as you go… finger press, use a wood iron implement or an iron….. BE CAREFUL not to stretch or distort the block. 

WEDGE 3
WEDGE 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once all the wedges are sewn to the NINE PATCH.  The block needs to be squared up to the correct size.   PRESS YOUR BLOCKS CAREFULLY. I did the  in a two- step square up … first getting the misaligned fabric removed … then square up the block to the  correct size ( 4.5 inches.)  IT IS IMPORTANT to maintain quarter inch off of the corners of the nine patch, but you can tilt the ruler a little to get a slightly varied tilt.  This was really evident when I increased the size of the rectangle the wedges were made from to 6 inches.  Doing that allowed for easier squaring of my blocks.

 

There is bulk at the intersection of skinny part of the wedge at the corners. This requires careful trimming of the dog ears and excess fabric under the wedge patches.

The bulk at the corners where the skinny part of the wedge is sewn results in a lot of bulk that interferes with squaring up of the block.    I solved this problem by increasing the size of the rectangle I used to make my wedges.  I cut them to 6 inches by 2.5 inches then cutting the wedges to result in a right tilt or a left tilt.  This allows you to square up the block to get the tilt you want.   I am also experimenting with making a template that makes the tilting easier with less fabric waste.

When squaring up the block make sure to maintain a quarter inch seam allowance off the corners of the tilted nine patch.

SQUARE UP BLOCK to 4.5 inches
4.5 inch TILT TO THE RIGHT BLOCK ( finished 4 inches)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOW FOR MY RANT…..

The instructions for my quilt works only for exactly, precisely  stitched blocks with no wiggle room or possibility of making a mistake or mis-sewing.  Most of them barely came to correct size.  I believe in making this kind of block big so that is can be can have some ability to square up my block so they had some difference from block to block.  Many of my first blocks came out wonky and not to the correct size.  I can use them in the quilt but I was getting discouraged and had put the blocks aside several time.  I later experimented with making larger rectangles to cut my wedges from.  I am now experimenting with making a template for cutting the wedges to the exact specifications.

Because I have so many wonky blocks from my first attempts at making my blocks I am now deliberately making wonky blocks with cut tips, askewed nine patches….. After all mistakes are opportunity for  designing your own quilt in your own style.  I will post pictures when I start assembling the quilt blocks.

 

WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU LEMONS MAKE LEMONADE…..

FINISHED IS BETTER THAN PERFECT…..

 

These are the only wise words I have left so…..

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save
 

Save

One thought on “TILTING BLOCKS TO THE RIGHT —

Leave a Reply

