My first assignment for my retirement is ……

I am thinking of retiring this year and already I am getting assignments . . . My assignment if I choose to accept …. make three    (?) quilts to be used as window shades . . . (to block light) for daughter’s pre-school class room. She raided my fabric stash to find my hoard of fabric I was saving for something… I guess this is it. She has since gone on line to buy more fabrics … We will be adding some bright solids / tone on tone to get enough yardage … not sure how yet.

SIZE 60 X 65 INCHES

GOT ANY ADVICE

f1-1206-r99-*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*

I am thinking I will using the people panel on the top and bottom of the shade. The small blocks and the larger animals will be fussy cut then framed. I will be using the stripe fabric as some of the frames. I will also use solid fabric and tone on tone in bright fabrics from my stash to make the frames.

f3- 1211-- 99r

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
I am thinking of splitting the sun, branch and caterpillar fabric and framing it with the bubble fabric on the other picture. I will put them at the top and bottom of the shade.  I will center the main panel….  using the food and butterfly fabric around it to get it to size.  If I need more blocks I will do raw edge applique of the caterpillar and butterfly… maybe some food.                 .

f2 - 1208- -99r

 

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*

*

*

*

 

Not sure what I will do with these fabrics … They are on hold.  Looking for more book related fabric that is appropriate for the project.  I have Dr Suess fabric but I was saving it for a special grandchild…. so we will see.

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com
.

IF I knew how to format this post properly we would not have any * * astricks * * on the side of the pictures.
.

.

 

4 thoughts on “My first assignment for my retirement is ……

  1. What a charming idea with bright colors and happy themes! Of course, one cannot decline a request like this. One word of caution, retired 7 years now and one thing I know without any doubt. You must learn to say no to some things. I am very selective now. Having been busier than a full-time job the last few years, I now have learned to balance requests. Best of luck to you.

    1. I am really good at saying “NO” to people that are outside of the family…. Grandson and DD are the only people I will consider to do a project for … but my UFOs are first on my list of things to get done … I have 6 projects that are ALMOST DONE.

Leave a Reply

