I went to AQS Grand Rapids Quilt Show

I am going to keep the written portion of this blog short … then I have a ton of pictures to post.  I am posting picture of close up of the quilts because I  did a study of the FREE MOTION  (FMQ) QUILTING exhibited at the show.   FMQ has been my main study for the past two years .. I want to be proficient by the time I retire because I have a large number of quilt tops that need to be quilted.  I was paying particular attention to the FMQ motifs and how they affected the quilt top.  

At the show there were section of quilts designated as quilted on domestic machines and other sections designated as long arm quilted.  I was surprised at the large number of quilts on display that were hand quilted.   I also noted that many of the quilts on display were more MODERN in ascetic then the previous quilt shows I have been to.  There were art and traditional quilts to be seen but modern quilts are definitely an increased presence at this show.

There were several special exhibits: WICKED, Cherry-wood Challenge, Quilt like an Egyptian, Animals we Love, ULTIMATE Guild Challenge,  Teacher’s display, AQS Authors’ Showcase,  Quilts from the Museum,  New Quilts from Old Favorites Challenge,  SAQA WIDE HORIZON ART QUILTS, Living Color, and my favorite RED, WHITE and Quilted ( A display of antique quilts and counterpart contemporary reproductions of the antiques.)  I will post pictures in future blogs. 

I am also considering posting a blog about what I have surmised about which quilts are selected for JURIED / REGIONAL shows.  I may be “all wet ” with my opinion about what quilts are selected but after attending quilt shows local and major for the past 10 years I have developed some observations that might be of value. 

I took over 45o pictures … I tried to keep all the particulars with each picture but some of the names and numbers were not recorded. In part because I concentrated on FMQ and not always on the entire quilt. I also had photographed the quilts on two different days with two different cameras … so information got lost in the process. If I know the information I will post it. But enough talk… on with the pictures.

close up of OWL
close up of OWL  … I think this #518 OCTOBER SKY by Bethanne Nemish

 

from the WINNER'S CIRCLE
from the WINNER’S CIRCLE

 

 

#105 SAFFRON SPLENDOR by Pat Holly
above ….#105 SAFFRON SPLENDOR by Pat Holly                                                                                   

 

 

POPPY
POPPY

 

 

SAM IN SUNLIGHT #428 by Deborah Hyde ( QUILTED on a Domestic Machine)
SAM IN SUNLIGHT #428 by Deborah Hyde ( QUILTED on a Domestic Machine)

 

 

407  DAZZELING DALHIA
407 DAZZELING DALHIA

 

 

FMQ : 223 FERN RISING --BEST ORIGINAL DESIGN
FMQ : 223 FERN RISING –BEST ORIGINAL DESIGN

 

 

FMQ over Black tulle
FMQ over Black tulle

 

 

Center Medallion FMQ from BRIDE'S TROUSSEAU # 508
Center Medallion FMQ from BRIDE’S TROUSSEAU # 508

 

 

BEST HAND QUILTED
BEST HAND QUILTED

 

 

BEST HAND QUILTED
BEST HAND QUILTED

 

 

DIANA .... this quilt looked best at a distance ... up close you could see the tiny patches ...
DIANA …. this quilt looked best at a distance … up close you could see the tiny patches …

 

 

STRAIGHT LINE MATCH STICK FMQ
STRAIGHT LINE MATCH STICK FMQ

 

 

Feathers on a Modern Quilt
Feathers on a Modern Quilt

 

 

Long arm FMQ
Long arm FMQ

 

 

RED AND WHITE
RED AND WHITE

 

 

CLOSE UP
CLOSE UP

MORE PICTURES TO COME … but I am way too tired tonight …. so enjoy
.
.
HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com
.
.

3 thoughts on “I went to AQS Grand Rapids Quilt Show

  1. Like you, I am working on expanding my FMQing on a domestic machine. Thanks for the pics. As one retired nurse to another, once you make the transition, you are going to love your new life!

Leave a Reply

