MY favorite quilt block … BRAVE WORLD #1265

MY FAVORITE QUILT BLOCK: 1265
SPINNER …. Nancy Page
BRAVE WORLD (1265) … Farmer Journal 1944
BRAVE NEW WORLD … Fons and Porter
Brown World ….. Nancy Cabot

brave world - 5 inch

……    https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/1904/ LINK to TIPS and TRICKS FOR BRAVE WORLD BLOCK

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
As identified in Barbara Brackman’s book. All block illustrations are from ELECTRIC QUILT BLOCK BASE.
I have first saw this block on Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting PBS TV show. ( I think season 500.) I have made several quilts using this block. I think I like it because it can be set in so many different lay-out. Even using the same blocks ( I make tons of them with left over fabrics and various white on white fabrics as background. ) I find by making these blocks it lets me make baby quilts quickly.

I usually make the baby quilts scrappy.  I usually make 4 inch blocks.  I have often used  novelty fabrics that I have fussy cut as the square.  This makes the blocks directional so you have to pre- plan the quilt using a design wall.

 

 

I am posting the instructions and measurements for this patch on line because I had lost the original file ( computer crash) and just recently found a print-out so I am recreating it here. This patch is the basis for many blocks and quilts depending upon the orientation and placement of the blocks.  By posting the patch instructions here I am less likely to lose the file again. This also allows my blog readers to use the information to make their own blocks. I will tell you I am not good at formatting on this web page so in the future I will try making a pdf file, but first I have to buy a pdf ADOBE writer.  Adobe pdf lets you put tables into the file.  I think will make my instructions easier to understand.  They will also be briefer as they will be instructions with no detailed explanations of the blog post.

FOUR INCH (finished) PATCHES
Fabrics: For most quilts I pick background fabric usually light colored ( I am partial to scrappy white on white fabrics) and I like mixed scraps of medium to dark colors. Placement of the lights and darks go a long way to define the look and style of the quilt.

blue hsq-tri

 

Cut squares of 4 – 7/8th (5) inches on the diagonal to make two half square triangles.

( CONFESSION TIME: I usually make my squares larger, to the full inch measurement. I then square the block down after assembly. This is easier and more accurate for me….. I belong to the make it big and square it up club. This patch would be 5 inches in size then cut in half. )

bg- hsq-tri

From the background fabric, cut square patch 2-7/8th ( 3) inches in half on the diagonal. These patches are then sewn to make a triangular unit on a 2.5 inch square.

 

* * * * * * * * *

 

 

3 inch square

 

 

 

 

   * * * * * *

 

 

* * *  * *   sq HALF TRI

 

 

The new triangle patch is then sewn to the 4-7/8th (5) inch triangle to make the BRAVE WORLD UNIT. . . .  Once the patches are sewn together press the seams to the path of least resistance …. toward the large triangle.  Square up to 4.5 inch unit. I like doing this after my patch is pressed. (I usually use starch.)

When you have enough of the units make a quilt out of them.

 

Quilt blocks needed:

Baby quilts 60in x 60in = 150 to 200 depending on size of baby quilt
Twin size quilts 70 x98 inches = approximately 408 blocks
Full size quilt 82x 98 inches = 480 blocks
Queen size quilt 98 x98 = 625 blocks (25 across & 25 down)

Measurements for other size blocks: 

ALWAYS, ALWAYS make a trial block to check my measurements … 
I have been known to be wrong and I do not do math.



FINISHED block size …………………… 4inch
Unfinished block size …………………….. 4.5 Inches
Large triangles (medium to dark fabrics ) …………………4-7/8th (5 inches)
Squares (medium to dark fabrics) ………………………….2.5  inches
Small triangles ( background fabrics > light) ………………. 2-7/8th (3inches)
****** ****************************************

FINISHED block size …………………… 5 inch
Unfinished block size …………………….. 5.5 inches
Large triangles (medium to dark fabrics ) …………………5-7/8th (6 inches)
Squares (medium to dark fabrics) ………………………….3 inches
Small triangles ( background fabrics > light) ……………….  3.5inches 


Divided in half to get the triangle big enough… no I do not do math.

****** ****************************************
FINISHED block size ……………….6 inches
Unfinished block size ………………. 6.5 inches
Large triangles (medium to dark fabrics ) ………………… 6-7/8th ( 7inches)
Squares (medium to dark fabrics) …………………………. 3.5 inches
Small triangles ( background fabrics > light) ……………. 3-7/8th(4inches)
****** ****************************************
FINISHED block size ………………………….. 8 inches
Unfinished block size ……………………….. 8.5 inches
Large triangles (medium to dark fabrics ) …………. 8-7/8th ( 9 inches)
Squares (medium to dark fabrics) ………………….. 4.5 inches
Small triangles ( background fabrics > light) ……………….. 4-7/8th ( 5 inches)
****** ****************************************

Let me know what you think of the instructions as I want to improve them.   I am posting the layouts I have used in the past.  I do not have the actual  pictures as I lost them in my last computer crash a couple of years ago.  These are just some of the layouts are available.  I used several books with layouts of quilts that have strong light – dark components to plan some of these quilts.  Check your books for log cabin block layouts.  I just have fun playing with the blocks.

SOLID CENTERS
SOLID CENTERS
LIGHT SMALL SQUARE CENTERS
LIGHT SMALL SQUARE CENTERS
PLAIN SETTING
PLAIN SETTING
WINDOW SETTING
WINDOW SETTING
ZIG ZAG LAYOUT
ZIG ZAG LAYOUT
PIN WHEEL SPINNER
PIN WHEEL SPINNER
FURROW CENTER
FURROW CENTER

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCRAPPY VERSION of Brave World Quilts
SCRAPPY VERSION of Brave World Quilts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

*
*
*

4 thoughts on “MY favorite quilt block … BRAVE WORLD #1265

  1. Glad you shared the larger sizes for the blocks, too, as I tend to have a lot of large prints.

  2. The block looked so plain to me, I thought what would you do with it. Now I see it’s very versatile. Lots of great designs. Thanks for sharing.

    1. I wish I still had the pictures of the quilts I have made with this block. Maybe when I have enough blocks to make the next quilt. I am working on another series of these blocks. I have sorted the blocks into modern bright fabrics for one quilt and then the other quilt is to be made of my older fabrics. I figure I will have enough for a new scrappy quilt or two by next year. My favorite setting for the blocks is the window setting but I think I will use a different setting next time.

Leave a Reply

