BOOK REVIEW: PICTURE PIECING > TRADITIONAL QUILTS …. By Cynthia England

PICTURE PIECING > TRADITIONAL QUILTS …. By Cynthia England

http://www.amazon.com/Picture-Piecing-Traditional-Cynthia-England/dp/0972096310 . . . PICTURE PIECING ON AMAZON

pic piecing

 

I bought this book after seeing it highlighted on THE QUILT SHOW. I was looking for a MAPLE LEAF block to make first for a post card then later for an entire quilt. I will show you a picture of the block I made after several attempts at the bottom of the post. In part I can not blame the book and it instructions they are straight forward and detailed but I just could not wrap my brain around this technique. I think I set myself up for failure because I thought the technique simple after what I had seen on THE QUILT SHOW videos. ( By then I owned the TQS dvd.) I have been doing foundation / paper piecing for years this technique was suggested as a replacement for that technique. I will say after several attempts at making the block from the book I gave up trying and used a different technique. I had been enticed to try this technique by the pretty little block in several different quilts. I was terribly discouraged because I could not get good results. I may try this technique again in the future but for now I am putting it aside to go to something else.

MY FAILURES WITH THE BLOCK:

1.> I pre-selected fabric scraps ( from another quilt , more about that in a following blog ) that turned out to be poor choice for this block / technique. I would have a more successful block if I had selected similar color fabrics. The scrappy look did not work with this block.

2.> I had chosen black KONA as the background fabric but it was too dark, too close to the colors of scraps used in the block. I did not have enough contrast in the selections of fabrics to get the look I was trying to achieve.

REVIEW of the book, PICTURE PIECING > TRADITIONAL QUILTS …. Cynthia England

1.> There are 8-10 basic patterns that are then used in several projects. She has patterns for Maple Leafs, Roses, Violets, and several star blocks. She took the motifs she designs and used them in different ways with different effects in multiple projects. If you like her projects you might like this book they were very nice, very traditional in style.

2.> The instructions for the picture piecing process are detailed and inclusive with many tips and tricks that can be applied to any quilt. For that reason I enjoyed the book and came away some new ideas to be my quilting endeavors in the future.

3.> I will say this technique wasted a lot of fabric. I was only using scraps but I notice the waste when I watched the video on TQS and when I actually used my scraps. This technique wasted more fabric then the standard paper piecing . This is my opinion and others are free to disagree with it.

Rating:

At this time I rate this book 3 out of 5 ( GOODREADS) Frankly if I knew then what I know now I would not have bought the book. ( FYI: My library system does not carry this book … as a matter of fact they have very few quilting books of any kind. Which is odd as Mid MI is a quilt guild heavy area. ) That said, as of now I am keeping this book on my technique book shelf.


WHAT the leaf is suppose to look like… then what my block looked like. YOU can see why I threw in the towel.

book- maple leaf-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

. . . .

My poor mis-shaped block
My poor mis-shaped block

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: PICTURE PIECING > TRADITIONAL QUILTS …. By Cynthia England

    1. GRETCHEN – – – I will say that in the future I will put registration marks on the seam lines when and if I use this technique. I did that when I made my Ricky Tims Kaleidoscope and it really helped. I also started doing that when I paper piece if it is very complex. Helps avoid confusion.

Leave a Reply

