CRAZY THINGS I DO when I make a quilt

My Version of  FOCUS POCUS pattern My version of FOCUS POCUS QUILT

 

I was suppose to get the pattern from my friend who bought it at her local quilt shop. My LQS did not carry it. We were going to go to a all day sew at my guild together, but she had to cancel. Problem is she had the pattern and the cutting directions, it was too late to mail the pattern.  I just do not understand why my friend wanted to be at her daughter’s home when she arrived with her first grandchild… really a sewing day would be so much more fun. ( hee hee ! )

We started with a series of phone calls and emails as she read and emailed information I needed. Neither of us have the ability (software and scanner) to scan the pattern and email it so it has been slow going. To complicate the matter I redrafted the blocks to a different size to accommodate the fabric I wanted to use. I figured out the fabric requirements for using a fat quarter, as I have a collection of wonderful leaf and tree fabrics I wanted to use. I redrafted the pattern on paper and EQ7. I even figured out cutting the patches from the fat quarters. Some of my fabrics were directional so they need special cutting to maintain the directional look of the fabric. I spent the day before the SEW IN cutting out my fabrics.

THE hardest part of this design is figuring out where each fabric would go.  I am working with multiple leaf and tree focus fabrics and then more solid / tonal fabrics in oranges, reds/ burgundy, greens, browns and a couple of deep purple.  Some might say the purple did not quiet go with the rest but there was a deep purple in many of the leaf prints and deep purple represents the grapes that get harvested in the fall…. a refection of my Italian heritage.   I  have a special grape motif to FREE MOTION QUILT in the blocks.   I have been finding the more quilts I make the more I plan the free motion quilting during the designing / assembly process. 

I almost forgot ……… Each of the gold squares in quilt is cut from my collection of gold fabrics and are different.  I tried to get several different values of gold from dark butterscotch / caramel to a light gold.  All are tone on tone with different textures and prints that remind me of fall.  I will be posting more pictures in the future. 

This quilt MUST be done on a design wall .  It helps you balance the colors across the quilt so that the eye keeps moving.  Several times I had clump of one color either green or brown in one area but none in other areas.  Seeing the fabrics on a design wall helped me balance the colors better, at least there are no clumps of dominate colors.   I also found using the design wall made it easier to keep the complicated piecing in order.  I had to tear out less often.  Since the focus fabric is part of the pieced secondary block it is important to keep them lined up correctly or you will become best friends with your seam ripper.   This quilt is dependent on proper fabric placement. 

Well this is all for now….

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com
.
.

 

Leave a Reply

