BOOK REVIEW : SHAPE by SHAPE by ANGELA WALTERS

ANGELA WALTERS new book

I bought the book on AMAZON a couple of days after the release. I have taken every one of ANGELA’s CRAFTSY classes and always enjoyed them. I think this book echos her class DOT to DOT FMQ but expands the entire concept, including all kinds of new motifs. I like how ANGELA encourages everyone to do there BEST but do not worry about perfection. Angela’s FREE MOTION QUILTING style is basically MODERN but can be applied to TRADITIONAL quilt tops. In this book she provides 10 motifs AND variations for free motion quilting a number of basic shapes. (CHAPTERS: Squares, circles, triangles, diamonds, hexagons, negative space and borders.)
.
.

I LOVE THIS BOOK. I currently have two long term FMQ projects that I am working through. I will be using a lot of the motifs and ideas from this book in the quilt tops I am working on. I will be posting pictures here and probably republishing this post as I progress with my own projects.

 

UPDATE … 9-12-2014 … 2pm:
After looking at my EQ7 mock up of the design I realized it does not have borders pictured on it. The reason being I can design the quilt top but I cannot design a pieced border on EQ7. It will have a border but not the one it the pattern. I had been thinking of edge to edge blocks but realized it needs some kind of border or it looks incomplete. I do not think my niece would be happy with a fussy border so I am thinking of a plainer border but one where some nice free motion quilting will be highlighted.
.
.
HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW : SHAPE by SHAPE by ANGELA WALTERS

  1. I’m on the hold list to get this book from the library. Thanks for your review. I need all the help I can get with free motion quilting.

Leave a Reply

