MY POST CARD EXCHANGE for Quilt Cabana . . .

1eee-----fini

RIGHT CLICK on any of the photos and a new open window will to a larger photograph.

.
On a whim I joined Sandi Colwell’s from Quilt Cabana’s blog, post card exchange . A while back they started a quarterly exchange. I had seen the postcards on twitter and I thought it looked like a lot of fun. I thought this would be an excellent opportunity to use techniques I wanted to try out but did not plan to make an entire bedside quilt. I figured this would give me a break from some of the other long term projects I have going on. But being me I put some PARAMETERS on the project. ( You will notice I am not calling them rules) In part I need the rules to keep me in check as I do tend to get carried away with projects.. They start small then they explode  into huge.

.
.

 

First Layers
.
.
First Parameter:

Project must be done equal to the time frame of one afternoon. I might spread the work over several sessions but I was not to spend more than 4 to 6 hours.
.

.

.

.
.
LAYERS ... starting FMQ
.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Second Parameter:

I plan to try any of the various techniques I have been seeing on DVDs, the internet and in book. I have a huge collection of quilting DVDs. I buy them, I watch them but have rarely tried any of the techniques. I own all the Quilt in a Day, FONS and Porter series, some Quilt Arts and all of THE QUILT SHOW. There are wonderful lessons and videos I watch them all the time… but now was a chance to get busy and see what techniques I like. Hopefully when I get finished with this current round of quilts I will be able to use the new techniques I learn into larger projects.
.

.
.
1e--in progress _0722
.
.
Third Parameter:
I want to honor my past and my home state of MICHIGAN. The subject of my projects will be reflection of my life here and what makes MICHIGAN special. My postcard will reflect the current logo …. PURE MICHIGAN. When I was young my parents could not afford to take us on vacation. I was about 13- 14 years old when we took our first vacation as a family. We rented a northern cottage and spent a magical week swimming, lazing and having fun. My sister and brother were much more adventuresome as there was a tree with a rope that could be used to swing out and drop into the lake. They used it right away but it took me till the last day of our vacation to swing out on a rope to drop into the lake. … but I did it even thought I was afraid.

.
.

.

.

 

BACK BASTING 0720

.
BACK BASTING the Applique
.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

.

The SUMMER POSTCARD:
My postcard partner is Jackie from SEW EXCITED QUILT Blog.

http://www.sewexcitedquilts.com/       SEW EXCITED QUILTS

The post card is on the way to her as I write and pictures of everyone’s postcard can be found on the FLICKER GROUP set up for the exchange. My pictures and this blog will not be posted until I am sure that Jackie got my project in the mail.

https://www.flickr.com/groups/2608989@N25/          FLICKER POST CARD GROUP

I would like to say as usual the project exploded on me. I originally planned a simple post card but because of the motifs I selected I had to enlarge the size in order to maintain the proportions of the piece. I started setting up my backing and batting. I also included a sheet of RICKY TIMS STABLE STUFF as stabilizer for the thread painting and free motion quilting. I started by layering the fabric to make the background design of the tree, ground and lake. I raw edge appliqued the various layers. I had raw edge appliqued before but not in a long time. I think this time I did a better job with the applique. I then free motion quilted the background. I ran into trouble when I tried to FMQ the leaves on the tree. I had already FMQed the ground and the water elements but my machine kept skipping stitches when I tried to FMQ the tree section. At first I thought it was because of the basting spray I had used to sandwich the fabrics. I later realized I had too many layers of fabric in this section of the piece. I had applied the leaf fabric over the water and had not clipped out the excess fabric. There were too many layers of fabric to FMQ the top thread was not able to connect correctly with the bobbin thread. I have learned my lesson and will trim out my applique in the future.

I used HAND applique technique called BACK BASTING to secure the swimmers to the water background. It was a new hand applique technique to me and I think I like it enough to use it in the future. I used this piece to test out some techniques I hope to use on a larger piece.

The final technique I used was the framing instead of binding… as you can see I still have to improve on that technique. I have tried several methods I viewed in DVDs, Craftsy and on YOU tube but none of them work very well. I need to learn how to handle the bulk in the corners better. I am posting pictures of the various steps I used to make this piece.

Well this is all there is to the tale of my SUMMER POST CARD.  I will be posting Jackie’s post card in a future blog.   Join us on twitter and join the next post card exchange… it is a lot of fun and can be a challenge.

.

.

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE

 

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

.

.

5 thoughts on “MY POST CARD EXCHANGE for Quilt Cabana . . .

  1. Hi Nonnie,
    I also am participating in the Postcard exchange. It is a great platform to create a “mini quilt” using new techniques. I used a few new ones on mine and because it is smaller, it takes a while to make, but it was a good experience and I will continue to take part in the postcard exchange because I feel that it is teaching me how to scale down my projects. I also suggested to Carol that we do a 4th of July postcard exchange and she stated that we could do a Postcard of Valor and give them to members of the armed forces. Will you like to participate in this? Your postcard is awesome and does a great job of representing Michigan.
    Ethel
    ethelsews@comcast.net

  2. It looks awesome Nonnie! As a Michigander myself, I certainly appreciate the story and the picture it portrays.

Leave a Reply

