My birthday present to myself — one of many

ART OF MC TAVISHING

I recently had a birthday and I treated myself to a several present, The Second edition of ART OF MC TAVISHING by Karen McTavish. I loved the first edition and Karen really inspired me to try FREE MOTION QUILTING. I had a long armer do all my quilting prior to seeing Karen’s DVD and reading her book. It looked like so much fun. I have spent the last two years learning and doing FMQ. I feel I have come a long way in my own attempts.

At first glance I thought the second edition book was a repeat of the first edition. I then went through the books page by page and realized that Karen has updated and added a lot of new material as well as a lot of new pictures of quilts and examples of McTavishing. The addition of a second DVD with more demonstration and instruction by Karen is worth the cost of the book. I have already watched the DVD twice and have been practicing several new motif I have not seen before and want to add to arsenal of FMQ motifs.

The only MINOR complaint I might have with the book would be that I wish they had re-shot the pictures for BACK GROUND FILLERS.   The motifs are so much fun and new pictures could have really highlighted with better picture.  But that is my preference, on the whole the book and dvds are excellent and worth being added to my reference shelves. 

GOOD READS RATING:  5 out of 5 stars.  I have used the first edition frequently and now I am looking forward to using the new motifs in my next quilting project.

HAPPY QUILTING,

NONNIE

.
.

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

.
.

One thought on “My birthday present to myself — one of many

Leave a Reply

