More quilting on the NURSE QUILT

MY quilting on the nurse quilt is progressing but there is no way I will have this quilt done by May 8th, which is okay by me. We have decided to give it to my co worker for her trip to the Cancer Center instead. I have all the straight line quilting done and am now filling in some areas with FMQ. The blocks are 12 inches and it needs more quilting than what straight line quilting offers. I have mimicked the nurse blocks in adjacent blocks copying the look of the blocks; I plan to fill it in with FMQ. I am adding FMQ to the nurse blocks. Each one will have a different motif as I am using Angela Walters and Leah Day’s books for ideas. There is so much to try as I can have a different motif in every block.

*
*
*
*

SERPENTINE STITCH / DIAGONAL
SERPENTINE STITCH / DIAGONAL

 

 

 

Using the #4 SERPENTINE STITCH on my Bernina stitch size 2.0 width 3.0. This segment was sewn on the diagonal … I used painters tape to get my lines straight in this segment and the plain straight stitch segment.

 

*
*
*
*

1 diagonal lines -569

*
*
*
*

 

 

 

 

2 wings - -0570

  I marked this segment incorrectly ( I mark with Roxanne marking pencils)  I should have drawn a line down the center of the segment so that all the points landed at the same line.  It might be hard to see in the picture but the points vary from line to line.  I am thinking of adding some FMQ in a couple of the bands with the hopes it camouflages my point mistakes…. if it doesn’t it is design decision.

*
*
*
*

 

3 - mimic the blocks plans

I am mimicking the nurse block in the adjacent space.  I still have to mark a inner square which will be filled in with FMQ.  When I first envisioned this quilt I had planned on simple straight line quilting but then the quilting took on a life of it own and I keep adding more and more details.

*
*
*
*

5- FMQ in blocks=0573

*
*
*
*

If you click on the small pictures they will take to you a larger photo where you can see more detail.  Each nurse block will have different  FMQ fill in the back ground.  The batting stated I could quilt 10 inches apart as it is a needle punch batting but my quilting has been between 2 to 4 inches apart.  I think of it as a mix of Modern and Traditional quilting styles.  Modern quilts seem to have denser quilting; traditional quilts seem to have more space between quilting.

 

 

 

6- nurse block - 0574

*
*
*
*

 

 

 

 
HAPPY QUILTING,

NONNIE

*

*

*

*

*

Follow Me on Pinterest
https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P
email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com
.

2 thoughts on “More quilting on the NURSE QUILT

Leave a Reply

