Planning a baby quilt….

HAYDEN'S QUILT 65-E

This is the baby panel selected by my niece for her first baby’s quilt. The panel is 28 inches wide and 42 inches long. The CHALLENGE will be to get this quilt to about 50 x 50 inches, more or less in size. ( More of a toddler size then a true baby quilt. ) I am going to have to add 10 inches on each side and an additional 5 inches to the top and bottom of the quilt to get it close to 50 x 50 inches.

My current plan is a white border sprinkled with pinwheels. I will then have the green solid go around the extended panel at about 5 to 6 inches sides and top. I may have more pinwheels sprinkled in the green border… I will have to think about that. It will definitely be asymmetrical. I am not 100% sold on the solid green border as I think it looks stark but I would have to buy more fabric for a different border as I do not have any other coordinating fabrics. Poke dots or a soft stripe would look sweet but I do not have anything close to coordinating.

I rummaged thru my stash and found some coordinating fabrics. I am not sure if I am going to add some pink to the mix as this is an awfully pink quilt. But the more I look at it the more I see the green and yellow are also very pronounced in the quilt. The pinwheels will be white using the yellow and green fabrics and I am thinking some additional pink, again from my stash. ( The bright yellow the panel and coordinating fabrics are on is the backing fabric.)

Well this is my tentative plans… any input would be greatly appreciated.

HAPPY QUILTING
NONNIE

7 thoughts on “Planning a baby quilt….

  1. I think the yellow is too loud for this panel. A little bit of it would be good, but not much. I think you should stick with the greens and pinks.

  2. its tricky trying to make do with existing fabric but you can do it I am sure. The sold green is very dark but you could do a really thin border of it first up – 3/4″ finished. Then a pieced border – pin wheels, flying geese using the white and your fat quarter fabrics (I love flying geese but pinwheels are lovely too) If you have some scraps of dark pink or any of the other colours in the quilt you can use them too. Piano keys would work too – love those – but if you are running short of fabric you might not have enough. But raid your scrap bag if you have any. There are lots of colours in the panels. Then you can finish off with the white (another narrow border or make it as wide as you can with the fabric you have) and then a wider green border and bind it in that too. Lots of choices. Now we have confused you totally and you have too many choices so ignore us all and do what you want

  3. That’s a very cute panel. Looking at it, my first reaction is a think light green border, followed by a thicker orange border and then the darker green with white and darker pink with white pinwheels. I also like the idea of piano keys. Would definitely add a little more of the darker pink.

  4. I like the idea of pinwheels for the innermost border. Then I think a thin (maybe 1.5 or 2 inches) border of the solid green, with piano keys made from your coordinating fabrics in the width you need to fill for the outermost border.

    1. I like that idea but I only have fat quarters of the yellow, orange and lime fabrics. I have two yards of the green solid and white. I might find a way to make a staggered border from those two fabric with pinwheels scattered inside. That sound like fun… but still need more ideas.

      NONNIE

Leave a Reply

