2014 RESOLUTIONS… QUILTY ONES ONLY… not sharing the others

2014 RESOLUTIONS

 

I filled out Sandy’s from QUILTING FOR THE REST OF US special form but do you think I saved a copy for myself … NO I did not  . . .  BUT Sandy sent me a copy … I plan to expound on it further here….

 

 First:

Last year I said I would only make quilts for me and mine… not one was made… This year it has become a PRIORITY … our beds need quilts really bad. SO THIS YEAR … I am only going to make the quilts I want to for my immediate family … other quilts and UFOs will be worked in between the QUILTS I HAVE BEEN DREAMING ABOUT. I will not feel guilty if they do not get done… no more baby quilts for me ….. unless I want to make them as all the families I care about have their babies.   Sometimes PRIORITIES have to be set and charity does begin at home.  When I am at work I often counsel families of the patient’s to take care of themselves as the best way to take care of their loved ones.   I think I am going to take a page out of my own book of counseling.

 

Second:

I find the favorite part of the quilting process is FMQ… I find such joy in doing the FMQ… it is my favorite part… I will continue to follow the CRAFTSY classes & DVDs to learn the technique but I am going to do more of my own… I do not see it as a chore at this time… more of a pleasure… I am not very good but I do not care … I WILL GET BETTER WITH PRACTICE. … …. … I find I have such peace and enjoyment when I FMQ that it is the best part of quilting for me. 

 

Third:

FINDING more time to do my quilting … this has been hard for me. It is usually why I only get small projects done. I make one big quilt a year since, when I get home from work I am too tired to sew. I think I am going to go back to the 15 minutes a day … or as TILDE use to say … ONE THREADFUL NEEDLE … I will need to set up my sewing area to be contusive to that goal.   But, making it a habit to do some quilting daily is something that has worked for me in the past and will work for me in the future.

So here is a list of what I have in the works…..

  • 1/   Hubby’s black and white quilt to the quilter for the basting
  • 2/   Finish the last baby quilt …
  • 3 /  Start the blocks for my Grandson’s quilt… He has picked some fabrics to go in it… to be designed on the fly.
  • 4/  Guild Challenge … going to be my DD kaleidoscope quilt…. First have to be displayed in FEBRUARY at the guild meeting.
  • 5/  New quilt for my bed… EXPLODING PINEAPPLE blocks…. I have specialty fabric that I can use to make the quilt … I just have to get busy … this of course will be one of the last quilts made.  I have a quilt.. an ugly one but it is warm enough.
  • https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/ez-pineapple-blocks-using-the-sew-simple-method-developed-by-karin-hellaby/
  • 6/  Rainbow quilt with applique… it has been running around in my head for ages.   USE THE VIKKI PIGNATTLIE method of curved piecing.
  • 7/  The Christmas quilt for my grandson… found the perfect background for it….. JUST NEED TO MAKE THE BLOCKS.
  • 8/  Continue making the 3 inch Nine PATCH blocks to assemble into a quilt.  IN PROGRESS.

>
>
>

HUSBAND QUILT IN PROGRESS

>
>
KALEDISCOPE AGAIN -LG
>
>

 

INTERNET INSPIRATION

 

>
>
>

>

>
<

>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

I found this quilt on the internet I think in PINTEREST and it has inspired me to make a similar style quilt ….. instead of flower applique I have cute panels I can cut up and use the motifs from. The scale of the motifs are pretty similar… I have the some great background fabric that will highlight the applique…. I just have to make the blocks….. I think this will make a wonderful WINTER QUILT.

>
WELL I had better get this posted our it will no longer be NEW YEARS DAY.

HAPPY QUILTING,
NONNIE
>

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
@
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

>

>

>

One thought on “2014 RESOLUTIONS… QUILTY ONES ONLY… not sharing the others

Leave a Reply

