Finished thread basting

1---e- 3 in apart

*
*
*

2-- e- do not sew over pieced seams 1

*
*
*

3-E-- Back-- thread basted ala Schambers method

*
*
*

I spent the day thread basting my quilt. It took about 8 hours but it would have been faster if I did not have to cook two meals, keep the grandson out of the pins and machines. I also had my neighbor drop by for a visit but since she is a quilter that was okay we just gossiped.

You will note my thread basting is kind of close together…. two reasons… I only had a short needle and I stopped paying attention to spacing cause I was talking too much. Sharon Schamber’s YOU TUBE videos show spacing about 3 inches apart, but she uses different needles. I could only find my embroidery needles so my spacing is much closer together. As she has stated if you have applique elements in your project you can space closer together.

I also realized I should not have basted over my seam lines. I am taking CINDY NEEDHAM’s Craftsy class Design It, Quilt It: Free-Form Techniques. She said you have to stitch in the ditch EVERY STINKING SEAM! That same sentiment has been stated by RICKY TIMS in his DVDs, so I guess I will ANCHOR EVERY STINKING SEAM with stitch in the ditch.

The last picture I posted is of the back. I had done some thread painting instead of a label as I got kind of lazy I did not want to applique or piece a label into the back. I also think the label should be applied before quilting. I used a free form thread painting technique. My only regret, besides my sloppy handwriting, is that I did not use a good stabilizer. I used an iron pellon instead of my wash away stabilizer and it did not do a good job stabilizing. Live and learn.

***************************************************************************

 

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast

Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Finished thread basting

  1. Nonnie- Thanks for the updates, have enjoyed your podcasts since the beginning and am glad to hear all is well. When you say “stitch in the ditch for every seam” , do you mean this for quilts with panels that you are going to add more quilting to?

    1. This quilt has pieced borders on it as well as designed borders. According to Cindy Needham you need to stabilize the blocks by stitching in the ditch of every block. When you stitch in the ditch you carefully follow the seam line down the side without the seam allowance; thus if you get a wobble it is less notable. She recommends using fine thread (60/ 3ply, Master Piece or Sew Fine.) This keeps the fabric from shifting during FMQ making the quilting look better. She also does it on her Whole Cloth quilts. I have gone over all of my DVDs for FMQ and many of them agree and do similar stabilization of the quilt top. Ricky Tims does it around his elaborate trupunto and applique. Paula Reid does it on her quilts. I think Patsy Thompson also showed it but she does a lot of thread painting on her quilts which serves the same purpose.

      I know long armers do not have to do it but even some of the award winning long armers stabilized pieced blocks on traditional quilts. I know my quilter does on her long arm if it is a sampler or block type quilt. I am told that it is a common practice. I am not sure what Sharon Schamber’s does as I did not see it on her video. I think she echo quilts around her applique which is about the same thing.

      Hope this helps. You might want to consider taking the FMQ classes on Craftsy… I highly recommend Cindy Needhams as I learned a lot. I also like Angela Walters classes and will probably take the Leah Day’s class as I love her YOU TUBE videos.

      Nonnie

    2. WHEN I say EVERY STINKING BLOCK (ESS)… I mean every stinking block. If the blocks are 6 inches you would have a 6 inch grid on the back of your quilt. For Easy Street Mystery Quilt which I have 15 inch blocks, it was suggested by Cindy to stitch in the ditch around the 15 inch block and consider within the block at the center. 12 inches apart is considered good.

      Nonnie

Leave a Reply

