Products I use and love

I am going to start reviewing some of the products I have bought and used over the years. I will probably throw in a few rants along the way too.

TRANSDOODLE  TRANSFER PAPERS

transdoodle transfer paper from mysty fuse company
transdoodle transfer paper from mysty fuse company

http://www.mistyfuse.com/

Recommended by Patsy Thompson in her DVDs about FREE MOTION QUILTING,  Machine applique  ( Vines and Leaves 2)   I have been playing with some machine applique and like the ability to mark the quilt and wash out the markings.  This  method is similar to marking your dress fabric with marking papers but the markings are temporary.

*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*

Ricky Stable Stuff and  Wash away Applique (fusible)  Freezer paper

http://applewd.com/supplies/WashAway.html

BETH FERRIER WASH AWAY APPLIQUE FREEZER PAPER... great for other techniques too.
BETH FERRIER WASH AWAY APPLIQUE FREEZER PAPER… great for other techniques too.

http://www.rickytims.com/online-store?page=shop.browse&category_id=26

RICKY TIMs STABLE STUFF  .... used for paper piecing, bobbin work and marking a quilt.
RICKY TIMs STABLE STUFF …. used for paper piecing, bobbin work and marking a quilt.

I often use these items interchangeably.  The Wash-Away is fusible but Ricky’s product is not it is also less expensive.  I like using them in paper piecing projects along with the applique.  I hate tearing paper out and this stuff can get left in the block/ quilt.   When you wash your quilt it softens and disappears… leaving at most a fine pellon like fabric behind.  I have also used these products in bobbin work.  And when I made a christening quilt I used them with wash away thread to mark the quilt for free motion quilting.   All of the lessons on how to do these techniques came from Ricky Tims’ Grand Finale DVD and THE QUILT SHOW.  I have all of those DVDs.  I like the show because I learn so much and love to play with the new and interesting techniques.

http://www.thequiltshow.com
*
*

 

 

Roxanne marking pencils with Clover pencil sharpener

curved tip snips for FMQ
curved tip snips for FMQ
Roxanne Chalk base Pencils and Clover Sharpener
Roxanne Chalk base Pencils and Clover Sharpener

I was introduced to this product during a FMQ class with Sue Nickels.

http://www.sue-nickels.com/index.php

http://www.sue-nickels.com/store.php?cat=4

Both products have been shown to be very useful.   The pencils are a silver but I think they come in other colors.  They are
chalk base and allow you to mark quilts through stencils or free hand.  Once again a wash away product.   I find since I am doing more free motion quilting and small experimental projects I use these pencils more and more. The sharpener makes a nice point and works better then all the other sharpeners I have use. My biggest problems is to keep the sharpener to myself. The family tends to “borrow” them.

I also liked the Eazy Cut snippers I bought from Sue Nickles.  I found them very handy when FMQ as we used the pull up the bobbin thread then stitch tiny and begin your motifs.  I would then cut off the tails of the threads.  The tips are curved so they are less likely to snip your fabric.  They are easy to use.

 
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
 

 



Superior THREAD HOLDER

https://www.superiorthreads.com/shop

https://www.superiorthreads.com/shop/

Metal Stand
Metal Stand

This is the one I have but it no longer has the metal pin that holds the thread in place.  It kept falling out until one day it was lost.


*
*
*
*
*
*

https://www.superiorthreads.com/shop/product/superior-thread-holder

Plastic thread holder I want
Plastic thread holder I want

THIS is the one I plan to buy….

LETS FACE IT … I am a sewing notion junky I buy them all and try them out.  Good for you cause you can just take advantage of my experimentation and buy the things I recommend.   I will also let you know what I actually hate and found the product did not live up to the hype.  Maybe I can save your money for you.

Happy Quilting,

Nonnie

PS ONCE again I am fighting with the formatting for my blog. That is why you get the funky little ****** !

Leave a Reply

