Tips and Tricks for BRAVE WORLD blocks

THIS WEEKEND: I posted frequent updates to my sewing days.  YOU can link to them at :

Link to: Nonnie’s one quilter Sew IN: Saturday post.

*

SUNDAY SEW IN: PLAYING WITH MY BLOCKS

*

QUILTING POD-CASTER’s Flicker Page for EASY STREET MYSTERY … COME JOIN US

*

SQUARING UP BLOCKS
SQUARING UP BLOCKS

`
`

I made several of my blocks using Bonnie Hunter’s directions from her blog. LINK to BONNIE’S EASY STREET MYSTERY QUILT My problem was the fabric I was using. I had many scraps/ patches that could be used; left overs from other projects. I had over 20 green half triangles that were 4-1/2 inches in size. I decided to use them in this project. Maybe foolish but I am the QUEEN of MAKING DO WITH WHAT YOU HAVE. I should mention that I do not square up my blocks till just before I use them. I think they stay nicer and fit better with less wear and tear on the edges of the blocks making them easier to assemble into the final blocks. What you see are un-squared, un-trimmed blocks.

`
`
4-folded lg tri--line up center

I took my large ( 4-1/2 inch) triangles folded them in half and lined them up with the center of the winged- square triangle and made sure when I opened it up to line up the diagonal. I then would sew it together. I could have trimmed the 4-1/2 inch triangles but in the past when I did this I usually ended with too small blocks. By doing it this way I can fudge and come up with perfect blocks for assembling.

`
`
3-USING what you have

`
`

Since I was using larger triangles I was careful to line them up at the center then I would keep the edges together as I sewed. Once I pressed the blocks I would then trim them. I do not square them up to size until I plan to use them.

`
`
2- square up 3-half inch
`
`
5 - quarter inch off join

A lesson I learned the hard way is to check the straightness of the bias edge on the winged square block. I always make sure I have straightened the bias and I have a quarter of an inch off the center. You can see that sometimes in piecing a patch can get out of alignment. I sliver trim to maintain the best edge making it easier to sew and making a nicer block. If you have too much fabric off the center you can end up with a floating square.

`
`
6- floating

`
`

On the left you can see a patch sewn thru the quarter inch seam allowance exactly or a thread over from the cross section of the seams. It results in a square then is right along the large triangle. It is a correctly sewn block and if you were to enter a JURIED quilt show the judge might be checking the accuracy of your pieced work for this traditional block.

`
`

That said I like to float my blocks, especially when I am planning to use certain settings for my blocks. I like to see them float within the block. I often piece so there is a small distance (about 1/8th inch) away from the large triangle. I especially like this when I use the FURROW OR ZIG ZAG setting for my blocks. (See: Setting styles) It is best to strive for consistency in your patchwork whether you sew the traditional block or float your block. The quilt looks best when you are consistent in your style.

I am missing some pictures and I will be posting them here, soon.

Happy Quilting,
Nonnie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

`
`

I feel strongly that each quilter must make accommodations to their quilting style, skills and LIMITATIONS. I plan show what I know to be the best of my knowledge a correct way to do a block; but it is not what I always do.

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog


http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast

Pod cast link for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

JOIN me at GOOD READS

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

Nonnie’s Flicker Pictures


https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/Nonnie’s WORD PRESS Blog

2 thoughts on “Tips and Tricks for BRAVE WORLD blocks

  1. Your patches look fantastic. Some of mine float a little bit but I’m not a perfectionist and don’t mind the quirky piecing that comes up if I’m sewing too fast. Clue 4 is nearly here – woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

