ON-going Diary Post of my NONNIE’S one quilter sewing weekend.

DECEMBER 8 AT 0900

I have a gift to finish for my niece. The FMQ baby quilt that I have been blogging about the last couple of posts. I also plan to work on my BRAVE WORLD BLOCKS for Bonnie Hunter’s EASY STREET MYSTERY QUILT.   NO pictures YET… but I plan to post HERE as I go along.  I have not even rolled out of bed.

See ya later,  Nonnie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

December 8, 2012 at 1030

I saw my sewing machine but that is about it.  I got the bright idea of going into the basement to pull out fabric from my stash.   I started to panic when I could not find the box of YELLOWs and GOLDs I planned to use for my colors.  I started going thru stash and scrap  boxes looking for the yellows and gold that may have been missed filed.  After all I need just small squares.  I swear I should have my head examined when I look at the gluttony that is in my stash.  An hour into cleaning / searching the basement I found my box of yellows and gold.  I then pulled out all the small pieces.  I made a new rule for myself:

ONLY FABRICS THAT HAVE BEEN CUT INTO CAN BE USED PROJECT.   THE RATIONAL IS THAT  I HAVE HAD THE EXPERIENCE OF CUTTING INTO A FABRIC I WAS GOING TO USE IN A PROJECT AND THEN DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH TO FINISH SAID PROJECT AND HAD TO IMPROVISED.  FABRIC ALREADY CUT INTO SHOULD BE FAIR GAME.  I HAVE TONS OF FAT QUARTERS THAT HAVE HUNKS TAKEN OUT OF THEM, SO THEY ARE FAIR GAME FOR THIS PROJECT.                               .

I had to stop searching the basement when my four year old grandson came down and wanted to “HELP.”  I told him I was finished and then we went up the stairs.  The basement is where we stash the Christmas presents.  That kid is too smart and would figure things out.   Last year he asked us,  ” WHY DOES SANTA USE THE SAME WRAPPING PAPER AS HIS MOM DID.”  We lied and said we sent Santa our extra rolls of Christmas wrap so he could use them on presents.  Santa takes donations of money and supplies.  That is why we help him out by buy gifts for TOYS FOR TOTS.  Works for us.

Back to sewing….. I am now in the process of making sure the fabric I select has been pre shunk and is ready for cutting.   I have a rather unique preshrinking method that someday I might tell you about.  Still no pictures.

See ya later,  NONNIE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DECEMBER 8, 2013 at 1300 ( okay 1pm)

Disaster struck in the form of a 4 year old little boy and a paint brush.  My grandson was painting with water colors and got them all over my quilt when he spilled the brush rinse all over the floor.  I tried spraying the quilt with cold water but that did not work very well to get it out.  The quilt is currently soaking in cold water and I will spin it dry when I have  rested a bit.  I had to clean the floor after I put my quilt to soak.  My poor grandson was so upset.

On the sewing front….. I spent the morning FMQ on the border.  I am practicing making sharp points… not doing so good… need a lot more practice.  The border on my panel has a irregular check gingham border so I used matching thread and quilted it trying to maintain sharp points when I turned direction…. STILL need more practice.  I did not have enough of one spool of thread but I had several nearly perfect half spool of thread so that is what I used.  I changed thread every ten inches so that if a person used a magnifying glass to check out the thread colors it will look like an ARTISTIC decision instead of a MAKE DO WITH WHAT YOU HAVE decision.   I will get back to the quilt after it air drys… probably over night.

All is not lost that means when I get back to work later this afternoon I will be working on the BRAVE WORLD BLOCKS for Bonnie Hunter’s Easy Street Mystery quilt.  I have decided to make 20 of the blocks since I am just a making a baby size quilt.  Bonnie said all we need is 64 blocks for a big quilt; making just 20-25 will be more than enough for a baby size quilt.

fmq-front

This is the front of the quilt, I am not sure if you can see the asymmetrical grid FMQ I was able to accomplish. I did not make any regular pattern, it was more what ever I felt like at the moment. And yes I crossed over lines. I do not know who ever made it a rule you can not quilt over a line; I think it may be from hand quilting tradition. I did get some puckers on the back but that was the results of poor pinning not crossing over stitch lines. I am thinking I will try spray basting next quilt, using 505. I have avoided spray basting due to DD’s allergies but if I do it when she is not home it should be okay. I always do a first wash and blocking before I give a gift.

In a previous post I talked about using CRAYOLA WASHABLE CRAYONS for marking my quilts. I used it a leaf section here, I then sprayed with water just to make sure it will wash out without problems. I did not want to recommend something and then not have it work for me or someone else. On the back in the next picture you will see some residue from the CRAYOLA WASHABLE CRAYONS but I just checked and those marks are also washed away.

FMQ-back

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Well this is all for right now. I am have errands to run but plan to come back and work on my BONNIE HUNTER EASY STREET MYSTERY QUILT; STEP 3… the BRAVE WORLD BLOCKS.

HAPPY QUILTING, NONNIE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I got smart… I printed out the instructions to PART THREE.  So much easier to read in print then on the computer… plus I can take notes on the paper.  Back again later… have some cutting to do.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

December 8, 2012 at 2100 (9:00 pm / EST)

I cut out my patches for the BRAVE WORLD blocks.  I have laid out several of the blocks (see the picture.) I have more;  I am having trouble trying to decide what shades of green and yellows to use.  I find that the greens range from blue green, green and yellow green.  I have limited number of light greens and light yellows.   I am thinking the yellow green blocks look best with most of the duller yellows and gold; but the bright, true yellows look better with the blue greens.  I also find I do not care for blue greens and yellow greens put side by side …. they clash in my mind.

When shopping for fabrics I find a lot of mediums but have trouble finding really light fabrics.  I have better luck with darks but even those are found less often than medium tones.    Yes, this is a scrappy quilt but I believe in controlled scrappy.  I have seen too many UGLY QUILTS in my time to make an ugly quilt.  Besides, I find it fun to make ARTISTIC DECISIONS VISUALLY.

Currently, I plan to sew my blocks together tomorrow.  Too tired tonight and I have a HOT DATE with a four year old.

BRAVE WORLD block
BRAVE WORLD blocks

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Well good night and I will post again tomorrow.
Nonnie

.

3 thoughts on “ON-going Diary Post of my NONNIE’S one quilter sewing weekend.

Leave a Reply

