FREE MOTION QUILTING: What do you use to mark your quilts ???

I used Crayola Washable Markers to mark my quilt top... washed out of GdS clothes... will wash out of the quilt top.
I used Crayola Washable Markers to mark my quilt top… washed out of GdS clothes… will wash out of the quilt top.

I used Crayola Washable Markers to mark my quilt top… they washed out of GdS clothes… will wash out of the quilt top. I make paper templates from index cards to do a layout of the leaves. Works for me on family quilts, but I do not use them for fine, heirloom quilts. TOO CHICKEN. I like the fine tip Crayola markers the best. A draw back to using the markers is they do not mark an entire quilt top. They run out of ink. I buy them by the bulk during school sales. They also will dry out if not used in a year.


Another drawback to the markers, is keeping my grandson from using them. I buy him several boxes of markers but he always steals my boxes.

FMQ = LEFT SIDE

Here is the picture after I FMQ the top. I have not ever have the markers not wash out of my grandson’s clothes, but if the marker does not wash out of the quilt it will add some shading to my top.

free hand draw -right corner

On the right side of the quilt, I wanted the leaves to look different so I surfed threw LEAH DAY’S FILLER BOOK and picked a pattern that I liked. … http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.com/ LEAH DAY’s FMQ PROJECT … I then drew it out in a newsprint sketch book. When I drew the pattern well enough I marked it on the quilt. My goal is to not have too dense of quilting as it will make the quilt stiff. I hope to FMQ the leaves tomorrow. I will then have just a small section of sky left to do but I need to make a run to JoAnn’s Fabric and get some threads. I also need to get some cording for piping that will be part of the border, although I am having second thoughts about piping.

Well this is it for tonight. I spent the day taking my grandson to a birthday party and this night babysitting two four year old boys….. I AM BEAT… SO GOOD NIGHT.

HAPPY QUILTING,

NONNIE

One thought on “FREE MOTION QUILTING: What do you use to mark your quilts ???

  1. Guess I need to use those crayola markers I bought to mark with. Forgot I had them. Since marking can differ from one quilt to another, I have many different tools. Your leaves are pretty; I like the different types in different areas of the quilt. Diane

Leave a Reply

