BOREDOM gets me into trouble every time…..

It all started with boredom. So I started to sort and cleanup my stash. Came across a big box of fat quarters I had purchased when I started quilting in 2005. It was a rainbow assortment of all kind of fabrics I bought when I did not know what I was doing. Perfectly good QUILT SHOP QUALITY FABRIC, but not to my taste or style any more….. What to do, what to do.  I decided on scrappy quilts.  I would cut up the fabric into useable sizes ala BONNIE HUNTER and / or SCRAP THERAPY.   But that did not sound like fun.

Another idea!  I have a bolt of Kona White!  I have just been on Pinterest and saw picture of a beautiful antique thousand pyramid quilt.  I have always wanted to make one of those kind of…… I have my own idea about what is will look like.  I wanted more white space in the quilt.  Plus I want to find a way to make the pyramids float more across the quilt.

PYRAMID QUILT TUTORIAL…. but this is NOT THE WAY I AM MAKING MY QUILT.

My rules:

ONLY fabric currently in my stash can be used.  I will cut 8-1/2 inch strip off my fat quarters and sew 2-1/2 inch on each side, then cut off the triangles from the strip set.  I should be able to cut three triangles for each strip set. ( Pictures to be posted someday, maybe …..  Who knows maybe with a pattern.) The triangles would then be put aside and sorted into colors.  RED, ORANGE, YELLOW, GREEN, BLUE, PURPLE …. based on a rainbow and a box of my favorite crayons.

SETTING:  RAINBOW STAGGERED ON THE DIAGONAL

I will devise my own method to make the blocks and hopefully have them float within the field of white.

 All cut away scraps will be put into a scrap bag for MILE A MINUTE / CRUMB / GIBLET & GRAVY blocks before I can sew on my pyramid blocks.  HOPEFULLY,  I can tame the scrap monster that lives in my house.  I use to make these blocks for charity donations but I have been very lax about that recently. But I did a number of these blocks on BLACK FRIDAY SEW IN day and they are in the mail.  I am in the process of taking pictures about making a MILE A MINUTE / CRUMB / GIBLET & GRAVY block using foundation for pasting so stay tuned…. .

….. BONNIE HUNTER uses similar technique and has a tutorial here ………

Getting back on topic, here is a EQ 7 rendering of the quilt that is floating around in my dreams :

RAINBOW PYRAMID using my STASH ! (DIAGONAL SETTING)

WELL THIS IS ALL FOR TONIGHT,

HAPPY QUILTING,

NONNIE,

Follow Me on Pinterest

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast

Pod cast link for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

JOIN me at GOOD READS

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

***************************************************************

THE call is out for  QUILT BLOCK DONATIONS NEED FOR SANDY VICTIMS AT QUILT GALLERY… I have sent out a set of 12 blocks for their quilt and am working on another set.  I send enough blocks to make a queen size quilt.  My blocks look a little different but they are framed in black and enough for an entire quilt.  I have even sent an assembled quilt ( UFO) top to their organization.

Here is the link. ….. DONATION BLOCKS FOR SANDY VICTIMS AT QUILT GALLERY….. CAN YOU HELP ???? 

Modern QUILT GUILD call for donation quilts…. Information on this web page.

IF you GOOGLE, QUILTS for Sandy Victims information for groups / organizations will pop up.

.
.

Leave a Reply

