ART QUILTS, THREAD PAINTING and FREE MOTION QUILTING DETAILS

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast


YOU can find more pictures on my Podcast blog since I ran out of room here!  I am also adding my TWO CENTS about what I think about some of the pieces.  AS you know I have an opinion about just about everything.

These pictures were viewed at THE OAKLAND COUNTY GUILD QUILT SHOW. This group of pictures detail the thread paining, embellishments of a series of art quilts. Several of these quilts are from a challenge using MASTER ARTISTS as inspiration for the pieces. (Georgia O Keefe, Van Gogh, Frankenhaler, Klimpt, Hokusair, and Hunderwasser.) These quilts will be going to exhibits in Europe as part of an exchange.


This portrait used surface embroidery to add texture and highlights to the surface.  I think the big stitches were used in lieu of  quilting as I do not see any free motion quilting on the piece.  I would think if a piece was quilted the embellishing embroidery would have to be added after the quilting was completed otherwise the FMQ would interfere with the embroidery.   I am not sure if that is the way it is done,,, but it would probably be the way I would do it.  I do not think I would bring the stitches to the back of the quilt but travel through the batting from section to section.  

This style of FMQ was called angles by Patsy Thompson on her DVD.  She talked about how the sharp angles added energy and edginess to a piece.  I think the jagged zig zag angles and the sharp flame like FMQ on this piece added contrast to the softer circles and spirals of the applique motifs.

I know this was one of several quilts made after the style of Georgia O Keefe.   The free motion quilting (FMQ) adds details to the flower petals.  Thread and fiber was used to embellish the centers of the flowers.   The FMQ in the background maintained the vertical movement of the stalks and leaves of the flowers on the left side of the piece.  The quilter mimicked the background fabric with circular flowing patterns.

What can be prettier than a lily in full bloom and this lily was skillfully executed.  The in person viewing shows that this is a fused raw edge layering of colors form the bloom.  Variegated threads was used to accentuate the petals and leaves.  I like the upward movement of the FMQ when it mimics the flower growth.  

It is difficult to see in this post  but when seen in person or  in the original photo where I could zoom in I could see the raw edge applique used in this piece.   The FMQ follows the movement of the fused applique pieces adding texture by heavily quilting some areas of the quilt and leaving some area softer expanded with the batting. 

I think this was one of my favorites of the pieces… but then I am a sucker for POPPIES.  This quilt has a lot of visual impact and I do not know if it can be seen in his picture but each petal seemed to be of a different but closely related values the darker in the back of the flower.  I am assuming the fabric  was  hand dyed  and the gradation and use of the fabric was effective in creating depth.   FMQ mimics the veins and details of the petals and leaves.  I  liked the scattered  “pick” stitches in the background using  variegated threads to quilt the background it provided interesting texture.  

.

My grandson loved this piece when he saw it on the computer while I was resizing the pictures I took at the quilt show.  He called it LOLLIPOPS.  I have a feeling I will be trying to do my own rendition of this piece, in the future.   I feel the quilter successfully combined free motion quilting which mimicked the over all pattern of the quilt and embroidery embellishment that adds to the texture of the piece.  

 

.


One thought on “ART QUILTS, THREAD PAINTING and FREE MOTION QUILTING DETAILS

Leave a Reply

