Edyta Sitar : Reasons for Quilts

Reasons for Quilts: An Inspiring Treasury of Quilts and Their StoriesReasons for Quilts: An Inspiring Treasury of Quilts and Their Stories by Judy Stern Friedman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

2011

added value: cD with pdf files of 10 patterns selected from the book.

This is a mixture of Edyta’s personal quilting history with homage paid to the traditional blocks she favors and the quilters who made them. I felt like I was reading her private diary… thoughtful and retrospective; loving and respectful of her family and the traditions in a new country.

I have always enjoyed Edyta’s books and the pictures of the quilts in this book make it worth a high rating. I have seen Edyta’s trunk show in person twice and these quilts are even prettier in person.

Nonnie,

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/635…
GOOD READS

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

********
http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…

Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Edyta Sitar : Reasons for Quilts

  1. Happy New Year, Nonnie! It’s been great to listen to your pod-cast this morning, as I’m house-bound in a true Canadian January snow-blow. 🙂 While I listened, I finished off the crazy quilt block for this week that I’m doing with Sharon Boggon’s “Take a Stitch Tuesday” and the Crazy Quilt Journal Project. I enjoy both quilting and embroidering, so this fills the bill on both counts. I enjoyed visiting your Guild’s blog — what wonderful things were done in that fabric challenge. I think I picked out your friend’s piece, and yes, I can see how she’d do that with fabric that has colour gradients. Lovely!

    I’ve been following Leah Day’s FMQ challenges, but not yet participating — too much to do to finish Bonnie Hunter’s wild Orca Bay Mystery Quilt top!

    I am a member and fan of TQS (since the end of September 2011) so you don’t have to send me the certificate if there’s a comment from someone who’s not a member. I just wanted to stop by and tell you how much I enjoy your podcasts.

    1. THANK YOU for your lovely comments…. it is greatly appreciated. I really enjoy the podcasting and reading comments frequently results in something more to investigate. If you ever have a topic you would like pod-casted about just send the ideas my way. I will have to investigate SUSAN BOGGON’S Take a stitch Tuesday and the Journal project.

      Here is MI we have just gotten a dusting of snow… enough to keep me inside and not venturing out to LQS but actually using the fabrics I have. hee hee. I am still working on triangles for our local shops exchange at the end of January… using some civil war fabrics I have and want to use up.

      Glad to here from a fellow TQS fan. Sent a friend request on Face book.

      Nonnie
      aka Lady Rags

Leave a Reply

