HOW I spent my my SEW-IN vacation – – -2012 QUILT RESOLUTIONS AND GOALS.

My Secret Santa Guild Gift.... getting me into so much Trouble.

At the guild Secret Santa party this is the gift I “STOLE,” a lovely jelly roll from Moda. This is called CATTAILS AND CLOVER and it was made by Kansas Trouble. I am getting in so much trouble with this jelly roll, and I do not live in Kansas. I have three quilts I planned to make this year on my 2012 QUILT RESOLUTIONS at Quilting for the Rest of Us. (Sandy’s 2012 QUILTY RESOLUTIONS AND EPISODE 73: MAKE QUILTY RESOLUTIONS, read the comments..) I had my quilts for this year all planned when this jelly roll fell into my lap (sorta.)

Added stash fabrics to blend with the Cattail and Clover jelly rolls.

Anyways, I went home and started matching fabrics from my stash to the colors in the jelly roll. Anything that blended with the original jelly roll, look good, got added. Not enough lights, I started pulling lights I would put with the darks. Most of the lights are not in the original fabrics but are what you would get if you added white to the colors in the original jelly rolls. And this is what I would get. The above picture is what I hope to be able to use; the final selection, would be on the design wall.

Cut Stash fabric into 2-1/2 inch and strips of fabrics for quilts.

For the BOXING DAY SEW IN and the NEW YEARS EVE SEW IN, I had only had scattered intervals of time to work on getting ready for my up coming quilt projects. The projects require strips so I have been going through my stash and cutting first jelly rolls and then paired matching strips of assorted sizes. I cut them up from width of fabrics and fat quarter, plus stash fabric that would give me the required strips. I am now ready to start on my quilting projects. The third picture is just some of the strips I have cut up, my brights. I have another box of strips cut from traditional fabrics.

I just want to thank everyone at the SEW INs and Sandy, Tanesha, Pam and Darla for organizing these activities. If you did not participated plan on coming to future SEW INs. I am sure these ladies will be planning more such activities. So if you have not joined us on TWITTER yet, please come by, I am sure you will find someone to talk to. I am NONNIE_P. You can then connect with the other quilter and a whole bunch more.

HAPPY QUILTING, LOVE NONNIE

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog


http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast

Pod cast link for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

JOIN me at GOOD READS

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “HOW I spent my my SEW-IN vacation – – -2012 QUILT RESOLUTIONS AND GOALS.

    1. I did post on several of the forums that I belong to… THE QUILT SHOW and a few others. I did not organize the sew in and did not realize there was no posting until NY eve. Unfortunately I work full time and can not go on the internet at work; so I did not get very many posts up. The sew in gets planned as a spur of the moment type thing and the only way to know about it is to follow the blogs of the pod-casters. I plug them into a blog reader to find out about give aways and sew ins on the site I like to follow.

      Currently I will be following Sandy’s 2012 Resolutions / Leah Days FMQ quilt along. Rhonda at Quilter in the Gap also has some UFO /Stash Busting challenges going on. I know in blog-land there are tons more but I just have to pick a few. When I learn about them I try and post.

      Sorry you did not know about the sew in—You can friend me on twitter as NONNIE_P and come and join the rest of the gang… we all show up once or twice a day… all are welcome.

      Nonnie

      nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

      .

  1. It’s a good thing I didn’t participate in the Dirty Santa exchange… I’d have stolen that fabric from you! Those are definitely “MY” colors!!! Can’t wait to see what you do with those.

    1. BUT CARON… I WAS THE LAST STEAL ALLOWED … that was how I got it…went around like a hot potato… everybody wanted it. I decided I am a good picker cause everything I pulled from the pile or stole got stolen from me. It was the last steal of the night.

      Nonnie

Leave a Reply

