Book Reviews: Scrap Therapy and Dual Applique

Scrap Therapy Cut the Scraps!: 7 Steps to Quilting Your Way through Your StashScrap Therapy Cut the Scraps!: 7 Steps to Quilting Your Way through Your Stash by Joan Ford
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

2011

I have been hearing about SCRAP THERAPY for awhile and I just recently found Joan’s blog. I will be following it. I just purchased this book. I have a ton of scraps to start with; I just have to project to use them with.

I have not had a chance to asses this book in detail so I will be updating this review and the ratings.

December 18, 2011.

Nonnie,

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/635…
GOOD READS

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

UPDATE DECEMBER 23RD:

Scraps accumulate in my home … the more I quilt, the more I get scraps. So I have been seeking ways / patterns to use the scraps. I am a devotee of Bonnie Hunter and use some of her methods. I read Cutting the Scraps by Joan Ford, after reading about her via the internet. A lot of what she says makes sense. I will be using some of Joan’s methods in the future.

She believes in cutting the patches into 2inch, 3-1/2, and 5 inch squares. Because she uses the 5 inch squares books using charm squares as the basis for their patterns work well with her cutting methods. I recommend Pat Speth’s books, Nickel Quilts and More Nickel Quilts, as the scrappy quilt patterns in the book are all based on 5 inch charmed squares.

Where I do differ is her cutting and storage methods. For the quilts she makes HER methods are efficient and do-able, but I hate planning quilts so far in advance as I often change my mind, so I do not like cutting up my scraps into quilt patches until I have decided upon the pattern I am going to make. I DO NOT CUT IN ADVANCE AS JOAN ADVISES. Joan also advises storing patches in small shoe size clear plastic boxes, which I find a good method if you are making her patterns or similar charm pack patterns. I however make a slew of different style of scrappy quilts so I tend to pick the patterns then cut my fabric to use in that quilt. If I precut with the idea of someday finding a pattern to fit my cut pieces I would miss out on a lot of neat patterns. I will use her methods when I make on of her quilt patterns.

I also disagree somewhat in Joan’s advice not to sort your fabrics into colors / values but to cut your fabrics then to sort. (This could be my interpretation of her directions.) Since, I do not cut my scraps till I know what quilt I am making, I prefer to sort color and value, then when I need them I cut them into the size patches I need. I keep a bin with neutrals / whites, various colors, and darks. The fabrics in these bins are less than a fat quarter. I do keep separate small boxes of lights, medium and dark small scraps / patches. (Smaller than a layer cake.)

What I can definitely agree and base a recommendation for this book because of Ms Ford’s tips for precision piecing and making a accurate blocks. She does recommend SCANT quarter inch seam and she explains how to achieve accuracy. I also like how she recommends making sample / several blocks then checking for accuracy of size, before committing to an entire quilt. THAT TIP ALONE has saved me in the past many a heart ache.

I do enjoy the quilt patterns in book especially:
Scrappy Trails (Irish Chain)
Feed Sack Peaks ( 9 patch variations with HSqTri using 3-1/2 patches)
Everything Nice ( Square in a Square with Rail Strips)
Lightening Strikes Twice (my favorite)
This is a block I have never seen before and it is made in an interesting fashion. I can definitely see myself making this in the future. I love the zig-zag effect.
Blooming Steps Square in a Sq / flying geese and HSqTri… what could be better and more intriguing?

NONNIE,

I plan to update this book again once I have made a quilt from the book.

View all my reviews

Dual Image AppliquéDual Image Appliqué by Dilys Fronks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

2010

I have several other books by Dilys and have always found them informative and easily understood. I like the way she investigates different techniques and styles of applique. She is never boring. In this book she investigates negative and positive shapes in designs. I like how you can get different results depending on the placement of the shapes. The projects start as very basic and advance in complexity. Some of the projects are pre quilted and Dilys shows you how to assemble a pre quilted quilt.

I particularly liked the dual leaf applique that is on the front cover. I had attempted something similar in the past, but I found Dilys technique easier and more refined.

I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to make a different type of applique.

Nonnie,

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/635…
GOOD READS

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

