Ricky Tims Rhapsody Quilt

Have you ever looked at a quilt and thought to yourself this is the quilt I want to make. This is the quilt that would be my master piece! This is the quilt that NEEDS Ricky to come to my house and draft for me, cause I could never get the top to lie flat! These are the thoughts that race through my head when I see one of the complicated Rhapsody quilts at a show, on line or in a book. I know how hard it can be to make cause when you deal with curves THINGS HAPPEN. The series of Rhapsody books that Ricky has published are the bane of my existence because they make me think that my dream is possible. Then again they might be my salvation as they can show me the way to achieve my dream.

Ricky Tims' Rhapsody QuiltsRicky Tims’ Rhapsody Quilts by Ricky Tims
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love Ricky’s books and DVDs and was buying them even before he started THE QUILT SHOW and knew who he was as a quilter. I always fall in love with the pictures on the front cover and then I love the pictures of the gallery pictures. Ricky has detailed the process of how make your own RHAPSODY QUILT. I love his own quilts and the quilts of his students.

YES I AM A QUILT SHOW JUNKY !!!! Ricky showed how to make a Rhapsody quilt on the series.

PIN-LESS PRECISION CURVED PIECING

APPLIQUE

HOW TO DESIGN APPLIQUE

UNDERSTANDING THE DESIGN –

GOOD DESIGN VS DESIGNS THAT WILL FAIL

USING STAY STITCHES

SEWING CIRCLES

ADD this quilt to my dream list!!!

NONNIE

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

********

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Ricky Tims Rhapsody Quilt

  1. I know one day I will give this a try but my big concern is curves…. How to make a curved seam lie flat is always something that I found difficult to do. I have read the books and seen his work on his GRAND FINALE, Caveman DVDs and he explains his techniques but I still hesitate. Fabric can be fussy. Lying flat is my big concern.

    I do plan to do it within the next couple of years… MAYBE when I retire.

  2. Nonnie, you can so do this! I haven’t done one, but I used to teach children to make these kind of designs on paper. If I were going to do this, I would start small, like a potholder, where it couldn’t get away from me. Then work up to placemats or sections of a quilt so that you really know the process. Then you should be ready to try a whole quilt. As pretty as his designs are, I’m really not interested in making one. Io love my patchwork!

Leave a Reply

