Book Review: Complete Encyclopedia of Needlework… book worth finding…

The Complete Encyclopedia of NeedleworkThe Complete Encyclopedia of Needlework by Therese De Dillmont
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have two copies of Complete Encyclopedia of Needle-works. One copy was purchased in the 1970 in a used book store. I recently purchased the updated version from 1987 at a quilt show sale table. Although, not all inclusive of all needlework techniques this book tries to include every one of them.

The text is a little dry but the illustrations are sufficient enough to allow a person to learn how to do some of the techniques. I have used many of them over the years. Several detailed patterns are included.

Each edition I have seen has been expanded upon. The earlier edition included knitting and crochet but later editions concentrated only on stitching, sewing, embroidery in all it’s forms. My only complaint is that the pictures are in black and white and the book is thick and squat, I would prefer a book 8 x 10 so it would fit on my book shelf better.

Techniques in the book:

Tatting

Knitting

Crochet

Multiple Embroidery Techniques

Netting

Macrame

Open work

Needle made laces
Linen embroidery


White work / Black work


Silk and Velvet Embroidery


Embroidery Lace


English Work / Venetian embroidery


If I come across another copy of this book I will probably buy it … I need a copy for the cabin up north. I also own several copies of I have two copies of Encyclopedia of Needle-works. One copy was purchased in the 1970 in a used book store. I recently purchased the updated version from 1987 at a quilt show sale table.

Nonnie

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

********

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…

Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

View all my reviews

Encyclopedia of Needlework (with chapter navigation)Encyclopedia of Needlework by Thérèse de Dillmont
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Nonnie

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

********

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…

Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

