BOOK REVIEWS:

Scrap Quilts by Judy Martin (1985)Scrap Quilts by Judy Martin by Judy Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was written in 1985 and reviewed complex scrap quilts. The quilt patterns in the book included: Bears Paw, Carpenter Wheel, Devil Puzzle, Prairie Stars, Star at Sea, Flying Geese, Fox and Geese blocks, Tennessee Waltz and Log Cabin, plus many more.

The book was written pre- rotary cutter so the HOW TO MAKE A QUILT instructions were given for scissors and templates.

I love scrap quilts, I bought this bought as a used book on amazon and it was worth the money even though the it has old and dated instructions…. What can I say I like old books.

Judy has released newer editions of SCRAP QUILTS but I have yet to see the newest edition.

Nonnie

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/635…
GOOD READS

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

.

View all my reviews

***********************************************8
Stellar QuiltsStellar Quilts by Judy Martin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

THE QUILTS in the book Stellar Quilts are not for the faint of heart… I felt most of the quilts are for the intermediate to advance quilter. Ms Martin use templates to achieve many of her complex stars. Many of the stars depict a shiny, glowing effect by using multiple colors. She also discusses many methods to achieve success such as partial seaming, the reason dog ears should be trimmed, how to handle bias. Ms Martin also give multiple setting for some of the star blocks resulting in different looking quilts.

I have only made one block from the book and I found it to be a challenge. I think I like paper piecing method better to achieve a complex block construction.

I do like Ms Martins explanation of some of the traditional quilting rules as I found them logical and interesting a great food for thought.

I ordered this book on Amazon and got it for a reduced price. I am not sure I would have bought the book at full price as I knew when I ordered it that it was an advanced quilt book. It was one of those I want the book even though I do not plan to make any of those quilts.

Nonnie

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.co…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/635…
GOOD READS

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com…
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

View all my reviews

********************************************

Traditional Two Block QuiltsTraditional Two Block Quilts by Sally Saulmon
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

2005

I purchased this from the AQS fall sale. In this book Ms Saulmon discusses briefly how blocks are classified by grids. She also how to combine blocks to develop an over all quilting pattern. I did find I had to refer back to Jinny Beyer’s Quilt Encyclopedia to understand how grids were determined so the blocks could be combined.

Ms Saulmon was a master at fussy cutting fabrics to make the boldest design statements. I particularly like the quilts called:

Centennial Medallion where she used a border print/ stripe to surround the center of the quilt.

Hoopla, she uses fussy cut border fabric as a strong design element.

In the quilt PERSIAN PUZZLE she uses fussy cut patches to make a strong design statement that looked like tile work.

I adored the quilt TEMPO where she again uses border fabric and half square triangles to make strong diagonal lines.

Xanadu used some funky parrot fabric but the way she fussy cut the patches they mirror imaged each other in a kaleidoscopic effect.

Ms Saulmon seems to like stars in her quilts because the majority of quilts resulted in star blocks when they were combine.

I bought this book for less then $10 on sale. I am reserving judgement as to how much I like this book. Currently it does not suit the type of quilting I am planning for the future but I still enjoyed the book. I would recommend the quilt to a confident beginner quilter.. someone who is ready to push their skills.

I also found this book went hand and hand with Claudia Olsen’s book 15 TWO BLOCK QUILTS.

Nonnie

View all my reviews

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast

Pod cast link for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

JOIN me at GOOD READS

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

