BOOK REVIEWS: MACHINE QUILTING : Primer of Techniques by Sue Nickels

Machine Quilting: A Primer of TechniquesMachine Quilting: A Primer of Techniques by Sue Nickels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

At the next guild workshop (OCTOBER, 2011) I am going to have the opportunity of taking a class from Sue Nickles, let me say I am really looking forward to it. I am reading this book as preparation for the class. She does have a class supply list on her web site but I thought it best to read the book first. I plan to read in depth then skim it. I have read it before as it has been on my shelf for several years and it is a great reference book on machine quilting.

Ms Nickles has won many quilting awards at Huston and Paducah Kentucky Quilt Shows. She does all her quilting on a domestic machine. Her sister Pat Holly is also a renown quilter and they frequently collaborate on their quilts.

CHAPTERS:

MACHINE QUILTING HISTORY

LONG ARM QUILTING

SUPPLIES

CHOOSING DESIGNS

MARKING DESIGNS

STRAIGHT LINE QUILTING

FREE MOTION QUILTING

MARKING

BASTING

BACKING

HANDLING BULK

STITCHING ORDER

FINISHING

MY FAVORITE TIP: CUT the ends off of kitchen gloves and use those to grip your quilt with. Your hand will not get hot by wearing full gloves. The finger tips work as good or better than the minnesinger gloves.

I recommend this book for any newbie who wants to quilt her own projects. I would buy this book again as I believe it a great starter book. I would then recommend Karen Mc Tavish’s books and DVDs to kick up their skills to the next level.

Ms Nickles recently released a DVD that also teaches you how to free motion quilt. It has to be purchased separately.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

