TOTAL EXHAUSTION

SPENT Saturday at an all-day sewing session… (Pictures to come.) Coupled with lack of sleep due to a darling young boy who is sweet as pie during the day light but turns into a mini monster at night, I have not had more than three hours sleep for the last four nights. My blog and podcast entries will be coming soon, but not unless there are some changes to life. Have fun quilting.


Nonnie

One thought on “TOTAL EXHAUSTION

  1. Nonnie,

    Please know that I’m coming from a place of total love for you! I am a gramma too and we both know we don’t really need a lot of parenting advice. But, my heart breaks for you when I hear how exhausted you are!
    Let me start by saying I was not a good mom when it came to a routine for my kids and their sleep schedules. I figured kids were like adults, they could go to bed late, they’d sleep the amount they need to, they’d wake refreshed, and all would be well. HA! Never really worked that well for me.
    Now, along comes my daughter. She’s got three little boys, ages 4, 2, and 1. And, let me tell you, they ALL sleep like little angels. And no, it’s not a genetic thing, one of them is adopted. But, she is the QUEEN of sleepy kids. Her two little ones go to bed at 6:30 p.m. and sleep until at least 7 a.m. The older one goes to bed at 7 if he’s not had a nap (they are just starting to let him skip a nap every other day) or by 8 if he has had a nap. He also sleeps until at least 7 a.m.
    Her secret? Well, consistency is one thing. THEY NEVER, EVER MISS NAP TIME OR BED TIME. I was insulted at first when I’d invite her over and she wouldn’t come because one of the boys might miss a nap. And, for 4 years they have NEVER stayed past 6:00 p.m. because the boys need to get to bed. She has to be this rigid with three boys.
    There is a book called “Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, A step-by-step program for a good inght’s sleep” by Marc Weissbluth, M.D. and let me tell you, it works. Did you know that sleep begets sleep? I didn’t either. But, if a kid stays up late, they will usually get up earlier than they would have if you would have put them down earlier. It’s weird, but it is the truth.
    I just took a peek at the book and I don’t think it’s ever too late to start this thing. It’s not hard, it’s just consistency. Which means the family has to be disciplined too but I think it’s fairly easy when the kids are pretty happy. I have never, ever experienced any meltdowns with my grandsons. Ever. They are happy kids and never seem tired. Just wanted to share…I hope I’m not sticking my nose in where it doesn’t belong!

Leave a Reply

