Speaking of MOTHERS …. THE QUILT THAT GREW

This was my second quilt but the first one was made 25 years prior. This quilt started life as a full size quilt. But as various family learned of the project they brought me pictures they wanted included. It has FIVE generations of the family. Old pictures from the 1940 and 1950 of my parents and grandparents in Italy. Pictures of my brothers and sisters growing up. Weddings with all the family. I appliqued or photo shopped over divorced spouses. Some blank spaces were left for the children that were yet to be. I gave it to my mother the year after my dad died. She kept it with her until she passed. It covered her coffin. My daughter now has it tucked away to save for her own house, she says. …… .

THE QUILT THAT GREW.... STARTED AS A FULL SIZE QUILT
EVERYONE KEPT BRINGING ME MORE PICTURES
OVER 300 PHOTO TRANSFER PICTURES
FAMILY MEMORY QUILT

MOMMA, 2001- BAD PICTURE

One thought on “Speaking of MOTHERS …. THE QUILT THAT GREW

  1. I love your family memory quilt Nonnie, what a fantastic heirloom! Just wondered how you put the photos onto fabric – did you print onto transfer paper or directly onto special fabric? I would love to do something like this for my family.

Leave a Reply

