Experimenting going on…. MAD QUILTER AT WORK. …..

Supplies need for this exeriment.

Supplies needed:

  • Scrap batting, cut slightly larger than your charm.

  • Contact Paper to make templates with. Cut them out the same method as making paper snow flakes. Mine will be 3-1/2 inches to 4 inches in size to fit inside the charm.

  • Technique:

    I use this technique on full size quilts and under. ( MOSTLY BABY QUILTS.) I am using it here on a FALSE TRUPUNTO CHARM QUILT. Each charm will be backed with batting and then the sashing will be sewn on per usual. I will then assemble the block, layer over a batting and then proceed to quilt as desired. I will be posting more pictures of this quilt as I progress. Who knows it might be a big failure.

    1./ Cut out templates from the contact paper. I find it best to make practice shapes on regular paper then recut out using the contact paper. Be sure the template fits pleasingly within your charm.

    2./ Press the charm on the center horizontal and verticle of your charm by folding in half and pressing lightly. You can also fold on the diagonal. This is useful to place your templates evenly on the charm.

    3. Place your template on your charm, then sew around it. You can sew around a second time by peeling off and realigning the template in a new position. Or you can use another shaped template. It is up to you.

    4. To start and stop… I find it best to start the sewing with really small stitches about 6-8. I then increase my sewing stitch to reqular quilting size 10 to 12 stitches per inch. Sew around the template and stop when you reach the small stitching. I take the tails to the back and knot the thread. I have tried sewing tiny stitches at the end but it usually looks very lumpy.

    Sewing around the template.  To start and stop decrease the size of your stitch and pull the tails to the back.

    Sew around the contact paper template being careful not to sew through it.

    My conact paper templates are made similar to cutting out snowflakes. It is a good idea to practice using regular paper, so you do not get a surprise. Some shapes work better than others. YOU have to decide which ones you like and which shapes you do not like. Mary Marshuta’s book had some nice examples of pretty shapes… I wish I could find my book….. BUMMER

    SEWING RESULTS from the First Template... Yes there are wobbles


    I can see I have been out of practice and I need to work on my stitching… but as I have said before… I POKE OUT THE EYES OF ALL QUILT POLICE. This block will be burried in a corner where no one will see. And I will get better with practice. This is what happens when I sew around a three year old, who likes to push buttons.


    PLACE THE SECOND TEMPLATE, SEW AROUND IT.

    This is what I got after sewing around the second template... I added more


    I was not happy with my template, I had made cuter ones in the past. I had lent my book and walking foot to my girlfriend who is on a week long quilt retreat. ( Long story, do not ask.) I am using my regular quarter inch foot to sew around the contact paper templates. DO NOT SEW THROUGH THEM AS THEY ARE HORRIBLE TO PULL OUT! ! !

    White 2-1/2 inch sashing to be added to each block. The batting is sewn in.

    Link to the book:


    Mary Mashuta’s FOOLPROOF MACHINE QUILTING (domestic) Using a Walking Foot This is one of my favorite techniques. I use it often when I want to make a quilt baby quilts. The quilts I do not take to a quilter.

    4 thoughts on “Experimenting going on…. MAD QUILTER AT WORK. …..

    1. This is so interesting! I really like the step by step pictures! They really look amazing. I love the fabric that you selected. Fabulous colors – bright and happy!

      I don’t think that there are any quilting police who would comment. I mean…It looks great to me. Really cool!

      Loved your podcast, Nonnie. I really liked that you talked about getting fabrics from around the world. That was really cool. It is fascinating to think that about all of the trends in fabric, and how they have changed over the years.

      Have a wonderful day, Nonnie!
      Katie

      1. Katie….

        There definately is room for improvement but that is half the fun… Planning to post more instructions and more blocks. I will be using some decorative stitches as I think that will be fun. I am hoping to just do one block a day as this little project will be done between other projects.

        I used this technique in the past for smaller / baby / lap top quilts ( Under 60 x 60 inches) as too big and it is harder. I also used this using my free motion foot. It was a little more difficult but do-able.

        I need to work on my starts and stop they look clunky. I know there is a better way I just have to find it… Practice will improve the technique. I also noted as I was hurring through the process being concerned with pictures and blog more than the block. I was sewing crooked, but I plan to slow down and enjoy the process.

        I also need to work on my templates … this one was kind of clunky and goofy looking. l am looking for my journal where I copied my drafts of previous templates. I swear if my head was not attached I would misplace it. Some of those templates were gorgous and bear repeating.

        Keep up the podcasting… loving the pictures.

        Nonnie
        – Show quoted text –

        ———- Forwarded message ———-
        From: WordPress.com
        Date: Tue, Apr 12, 2011 at 5:46 PM
        Subject: [Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams] Please moderate: “Experimenting going on…. MAD QUILTER AT WORK. ….. ”
        To: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

        A new comment on the post “Experimenting going on…. MAD QUILTER AT WORK. ….. ” is waiting for your approval
        https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/experimenting-going-on-mad-quilter-at-work/

        Author : Kate from QuiltingDaydreams (IP: 98.232.8.6 , c-98-232-8-6.hsd1.wa.comcast.net)
        E-mail : cobaltkat@gmail.com
        URL : http://katiesquietquilting.blogspot.com/
        Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/98.232.8.6
        Comment:
        This is so interesting! I really like the step by step pictures! They really look amazing. I love the fabric that you selected. Fabulous colors – bright and happy!

        I don’t think that there are any quilting police who would comment. I mean…It looks great to me. Really cool!

        Loved your podcast, Nonnie. I really liked that you talked about getting fabrics from around the world. That was really cool. It is fascinating to think that about all of the trends in fabric, and how they have changed over the years.

        Have a wonderful day, Nonnie!
        Katie

        Approve it: https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/wp-admin/comment.php?action=approve&c=114
        Trash it: https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/wp-admin/comment.php?action=trash&c=114
        Spam it: https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/wp-admin/comment.php?action=spam&c=114
        Currently 1 comment is waiting for approval. Please visit the moderation panel:
        https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit-comments.php?comment_status=moderated

        Happy Quilting… Nonnie

        http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/
        Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams- Podcast

        ********
        https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/
        Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams – Blog

    2. Hi Nonnie,

      Have you ever tried using freezer paper instead of contact paper? It’s not that difficult to remove if you happen to sew over a small
      section.

      -debby
      Chester, NY

      1. I only sewed on the freezer paper ONCE. Yes I have tried freezer paper but I find the contact paper templates hold up a little better. Freezer paper works too. It kind of depends on what I have on hand. I found I really like this method. I think the FAUX TRUPUNTO blocks will be really cute when I get done then I plan to do a grid style machine quilting from top to bottom ./ bottom to top then horizontally. Just playing.

        This will actually be a side project… not sure for which grand child/ grand niece.
        thanks for stopping by … we podcasters live for comments.

    Leave a Reply

    