UP date in…. NOT quilting….. but I have plans ! ! !

HI everyone,

No quilting updates here… life got in the way and I have not gone near my machine since March 12th sew-in. On the weekend of the 2oth of March we hosted my grandson’s birthday party. We decorated the fire hall all things “CARS and Lightening McQueen.” My daughter bought yardage of LIGHTENING MC QUEEN fabric and use that to decorate the gift table. We also used several panels to decorate the walls. We had games, cake, decoration, paper plates, piñata, and everything “Cars.” We are taking the fabric after we wash it and my daughter is “designing” a quilt for his twin bed. I am going to turn that girl into a quilter yet! She would be more into quilting if she did not have college and son on her mind. This QUILT is what I am planning to use for Sandy’s Children Challenge.

ARTIST IN TRAINING

CONCENTRATION

THE INSPIRATIONAL MASTER PIECE !

3 YARDS .... MAYBE BORDERS ?
MAYBE FOR SIDE LIGHTS
MAIN PANEL

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last weekend I had a bad, bad cold. Actually everyone in the family has the same cold so we veg’d out. I tried Frances method of doing nothing strenuous when feeling sick. So I viewed cartoons with my coughing, whiney three year old grandson and surfed the internet. I manage to listened to all the podcast with my head set on while Cars and Brother Bear scampered on the TV screen. I was intrigued by Sandy’s podcast on fabric and tried to research the quality of fabric used in the antique quilts that are in quilt museums. If quality fabric today is 60/60 thread count, what was the thread count of antique fabric? I dashed off the questions in an email and sent it off to every textile and quilt museum I could find on the internet. So far out of the 10 museums I got answers from three museums. I have sent the emails on to Sandy with the hope she will give us an update in a future podcast. As I posted previously, my laptop died and I need to reload my podcasting software. That will not happen till next week, besides you do not want to hear a FROG VOICED NONNIE.

As for the JoAnn fabrics, they do have licensed Disney prints and I have NEVER seen that type of fabric at a quilt shop. The panels, fabric designs at quilt shops are usually from the mind of a designer and not from cartoons, movies or TV shows. The closest license type of fabrics I know of in quilt shops are royalty free books, repro art work, sock monkeys, Dr. Seuss and Earl Carle. I love that fabric but my grandson does not relate to them… he knows Spider Man, Car and Disney. We are trying to introduce him to the best of Children’s literature but sometimes he RESISTS. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the fabric. It washed well, had a good hand and weight. No shadowing /good thread thickness. I would match it to the quality of quilt shop. I cannot say all of this type of fabric is as good. You need to use, BUYER BEWARE attitude when you buy fabric REGARDLESS of where it comes from.

I also read the articles and comments for the articles posted by Darla at Scientific Quilter.

http://scientificquilter.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/14-4-the-dumbing-down-of-quilting/ Scientific Quilter – Dumbing Down of Quilting

Of course I posted my two cents worth and I also went to THE QUILT SHOW FORUM and re posted the link. I enjoy the quilters there I have since been following the discussion at TQS. I DO understand a quilter needs to grow in skills and learn techniques but right now I want to make some simpler quilts because I have made several large complicated quilts recently and I am ready for fast and easy. Actually I see both side of the issue, agree with both sides and disagree at the same time…. So maybe I cannot make up my mind. (My hubby says I lost my MIND, years ago so maybe this is proof.)

Below is the chart posted on TQS blog of the amount of thread estimated to be needed for machine quilting. The least amount is based on batting recommendations that can be found on the outside of the package. The second number represents moderate amount of quilting ( What I do when I domestic machine quilt) The last number being what a long-armer would do when she did the dense “show” quilting. I think this is a good reference to save for future use.

Below is the chart posted on TQS blog of the amount of thread estimated to be needed for machine quilting. The least amount is based on batting recommendations that can be found on the outside of the package. The second number represents moderate amount of quilting ( What I do when I domestic machine quilt) The last number being what a long-armer would do when she did the dense “show” quilting. I think this is a good reference to save for future use.


Laptop / Crib quilt – 200 yd . /400 yds. /600 yds.

Twin quilt- 400 yds. /800 yds. /1,200 yds.

Queen quilt -600 yds. /1,000 yds. / 1,600 yds.

King quilt -700 yds. / 1,500 yds. / 2,000 yds.

The one quilty thing I did this week was go to my guild meeting. We had a delightful time viewing the trunk show of Dan Burke of Quilting by the River.

http://www.quiltingbytheriver.com/index.html …. QUILTING BY THE RIVER

http://www.quiltingbytheriver.com/Quiltgallery.html … THE QUILT GALLERY

He has beautiful quilts. He had given a workshop on foundation and paper piecing techniques. I did not get to take the workshop but the girls said his technique was much easier than other methods they had tried. They all held up their work from the afternoon. Dan gave an interesting lecture on the various methods and experiments he had used for paper piecing. I learned a lot and I think I might even try a paper piecing project using his technique. My camera battery had died, so I do not have any pictures to share but check out the gallery. You will just have to take my word that THEY WERE GORGOUS!

One thought on “UP date in…. NOT quilting….. but I have plans ! ! !

Leave a Reply

