The Quest for ACHIEVING QUARTER INCH SEAM ALLOWANCE

I get tried of scouring the internet for good instructions for QUARTER INCH SEAM ALLOWANCE so I am going to post all I find here in one place. Then YOU and I can evaluate the one that works best for our own understanding. I think this is a winner of an idea!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBoLPslLxTs WHY A SCANT QUARTER INCH SEAM ALLOWANCE IS IMPORTANT

They say a picture is worth a 1000 words, well it is true. This video gave the best explanation on how and why it is important to achieve a scant quarter inch seam allowance. This is much better than the explanation I tried to give.


http://video.about.com/quilting/Quarter-Inch-Seam-Allowance.htm About . com video – QUARTER INCH SEAM ALLOWANCE

Search on YOU Tube gave a ton of links:


http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=QUARTER+INCH+SEAM+ALLOWANCE&aq=f YOU TUBE SEARCH FOR THE ANSWERS …. HOW TO GET A QUARTER INCH SEAM…

OTHER VIDEO REFERENCES – INFO GOOD TO KNOW


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YOD5pLcYz3w FYI – UNDERSTANDING NEEDLE FLEX AND TENSION

4 thoughts on “The Quest for ACHIEVING QUARTER INCH SEAM ALLOWANCE

  1. The first video really mad it clear….not just HOW to sew a scant 1/4 inch but also shows WHY in a very clear manner.

    -debby
    Chester NY

    1. Debbie,

      Most of the video’s on YOU Tube are excellant with good production values and a lot of great information. Some of them are just regular quilters trying to help other quilters… they do not have professional help to record their efforts but they have a lot of HUTZPA to get out of their comfort zones. I applaude them for doing. I love YOU TUBE VIDEOS… they can teach you a lot of what to do and what NOT to do.

      Nonnie
      ladyrags88@yahoo.com

      ..

  2. Hi Nonnie. These videos were really helpful to me. I never really understood why a scant quarter inch made a difference. I’ve been sewing for many years and agree it’s helpful to go over the basics from time to time. Thanks!
    Ann

    1. I understand the concept of scant quarter inch… but trying to explain it / teach someone how and why to achieve the SCANT proved to be beyond my capabilities. When I saw this video I had to refer to it…. I wanted to make sure I cleared up any confusion.

      Thanks for stopping by to my podcast… feed back really helps… Nice to know I am not just talking to air.

Leave a Reply

