Art Quilt Challenge

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Evening Star Quilt Guild, Davison Mi

Our guest speaker this month was Sherrie Jaqua. She is a quilt shop owner from Oscoda Mi. I did not hear and have not read the name of her quilt shop. She gave out directions to her shop but a person knew where her shop was. I have never been in the Oscoda and I would not have found her shop from her directions. I would provide a link to a web site but I did not have any. Usually I can find information on the internet but I did not this time.

Sherrie’s lecture was titled, “THE FABRIC MADE ME DO IT!” When I had read the preview of her lecture in the newsletter, I thought to myself here is a kindred spirit.

( See: https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/2010/07/26/does-your-fabric-talk-to-you )

I thought, here was a lady who understood fabric and would not think I was crazy for wanting to listen to my fabric. Best still she is a quilt shop owner and she would have lots of fabrics. I settled in to see what marvels I was going to be shown. Her quilting experience dates back to when she made her first quilt 37 years ago. Sherrie showed us 50 quilts she and her cohorts have made this past five year as shop samples. Sherrie said she designed many of the patterns herself (She had self published patterns, TIME TO SHINE PATTERN COMPANY, available for sale.) and also made / had quilts made using the free patterns from the fabric companies. Unfortunately, Sherrie did not allow us to take pictures of her quilts so I have no pictures to show.




What I do have to show are pictures from the ART QUILT CHALLENGE. The guidelines/rules were simple, use any technique, medium, embellishment as art is subjective. Only stipulation must be larger than 15 by 15 inches. I will post the pictures and you select which ones you like best, then I will tell you the winners and a story next pod cast.



The guild voted, now it is your turn to vote…. but I think they are all winners.

ART QUILT --A

ART QUILT---B

ART QUILT --c

ART QUILT --d

~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~

Happy Quilting Nonnie,

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/
Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/
Pod cast about quilting, life, rants and raves

Leave a Reply

