Progress in the quilt from HEXX

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I am calling this the quilt from HEXX because of my own stupidity. I have been messing around with this but I plan to continue till it is completed. I am taking a quick break then I plan to sew at least two more blocks together, tonight.


*

Playing with my quilt on the design wall.

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

I have been working on my quilt for a couple of hours…. I have only sewn two blocks together. The rest of the time I have been trying to find a pleasing design and playing with different design options including introducing an additional fabric (nice brown.) That option lasted for only a short period because it changed the whole character of the quilt. It is an interesting option but not for this quilt.
I have taken several pictures and decided this is the best option considering I have just enough fabric to piece the quilt. Some of the sections might end having an extra seam, but oh well.
I am liking, the grid effect that is being achieved by the dark golden fabric, that was evident in the original pattern. Because of the change in the pattern due the fabric cutting mistake a whole new but pleasing design is evolving.

*
*
*

Some Unexpected design elements

Up-Date: 11: 30 PM… January 22, 2011

Three hours sewing : Four Blocks assembled

*
*
*

I spent the last three hours putting together FOUR BLOCKS. Each block measures 26. 5 inches in size. I had to measure each piece of sashing individually to get it to align correctly. I have FIVE more blocks to assmble and add to the quilt. I do think it is going together better then I though it would. I want to have it finished by the end of the month. I estimate another 6 to 8 hours until I am able to sew on the sashing. I have a lovely paisley fabric for the border from the same collection as the flower fabric. I will keep you updated.


Happy Quilting,
Nonnie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nonnie

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

