Nonnie’s Hot and Sour Soup ! !

Not quilting, but if I feed my family they let me quilt ! ! ! When I make soup it makes everyone feel warm and toasty. This one is a family favorite.



  • 4 dried black Chinese mushrooms
    1/ 4 cup dried fungus ………..
    Soak in hot water in separate bowls over night. Reconstitute then remove woody parts.



  • Cut into fine julienne: 1/ 2 cup cooked pork or chicken. 1/2 cup each of bamboo shoots, water chestnuts. You can also add chopped scallions, leeks, celery, pea pods, broccoli, bean sprouts and your other favorite vegetables. If you are desperate add canned Chinese or Chop Suey vegetables. I also add chopped assorted types of fresh mushrooms. Slice thin firm tofu.

    IN a cup of chicken broth add of 2 Tablespoon cornstarch, set aside.

    In a pot of chicken broth (6 cups or more) Add the meat, vegetables and tofu. Add 2 Tablespoons light soy sauce, 1/2 teaspoon salt and black pepper, 3 Tablespoons Vinegar (rice.)

    Bring all to a light boil, add the cornstarch mixture, then turn down the heat to a simmer. (about 30 minutes)

    Just before serving beat two eggs in a small bowl and pour into the hot soup. Pour small amount seasame oil and garnish with chopped scallions. Serve Hot

    If you want the soup spicier add more soy sauce, and vinegar. I have also been known to add a couple of tablespoons of MAGGI SWEET GARLIC CHILI SAUCE.

    This is a great soup to take to a party. My grandson won’t eat it but then he never wants to eat anything.

    WARNING: This is the original base recipe I modify it by what I have in the house. I often double the recipe. I often add leftovers.. ie rice or Thai noodles. It makes the soup more substantial. The flavoring are modified / increased according to taste. My food never tastes the same way twice… good but different.




    Happy Quilting,

    NONNIE
    .

    Leave a Reply

    