BACK to QUILT TALK—- MODA IS TAKING OVER THE QUILTING WORLD


It is my theory that MODA IS TAKING OVER THE QUILTING WORLD. I say this because every shop I have gone into has MODA! MODA layer cakes, jelly rolls, charm packs, turnovers…. All MODA! Even on the pod-casts there is always talk about Moda fabrics being used.


Do not get me wrong I like a lot of the MODA fabrics…. But the results of this take over is the lack of diversity and selection at my favorite quilt shop. All the shops are carrying the same fabrics so the selection becomes limited, the only difference is price. Even then it usually is not that much of a difference to warrant going to a different store to buy a fabric for a few pennies less.

So far, of the 4 of the 5 shops within a half hour drive from my home they are all carrying MODA. Most of them carrying the same fabric even though I know there must have been other collections available. I wish they would get together throw the names of the fabric collection in a hat and have a drawing so they all carry different collections. I KNOW THAT IS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.

What is the cause of this phenomenon? I asked a quilt shop insider, a friend (What a good friend, she always gives me heads up on sales.) who works in a quilt shop about this MODA TREND. She says it has to do with the free shipping that comes when you place a big order. As for the sameness of the fabric, it is usually the newest lines and those can be limited. (I personally do not see how since last year there over 40,000 different fabrics were produced. Again, info from my friend.) My friend also thinks that most of the quilt shop owners in the area are trying to predict and meet their customers needs and taste. Most shops reflect the tastes and liking of the owner but with the shaky economy they are going with the fabrics with a best seller track record.

This is why I think MODA IS TAKING OVER THE QUILTING WORLD.

What do you think?


Nonnie

https://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog
My Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
Pod cast link

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

