An evening spent with Kim Diehl and her Quilts


I belong to the Evening Star Quilt Guild in Davison Michigan. Last night we were treated to a trunk show featuring the quilts of Kim Diehl. Kim is a quilt educator, a book author, a pattern and fabric designer. Kim is delightful and kept us all in stitches with her commentaries about the quilts. Each quilt was displayed as Kim told us the history behind the design and pattern. In Kim’s lecture she explained how she selected some of the design elements in each quilt. I am not a traditional quilter but, what I enjoyed about the lecture was her telling us how she arrived at some of her design decisions. The design process as Kim was explained it, shows quilters that her patterns are considered a jumping off point to allow the quilt maker add their own elements and surprises. I think that is what impressed me the most about Kim she encourages quilters to add their own elements, style and colors and not be a slave to the patterns. Kim also brought in students who complete one of her previous workshop with samples of the work they were able to complete.


I gained permission from Kim to post some of the pictures from the trunk show. If you want to see more of Kim’s quilts you should pick up one of her quilt books. (Simple Blessings, Simple Traditions, Simple Seasons, Simple Comforts and her newest book Simple Graces.) I got two books autographed last night. The books give detailed explanations on various machine applique techniques. I have found several project patterns that I would like to tackle (Of course, in my color-way and style.)


Well I am going to let Kim’s quilts speak for themselves as dinner is calling my name. Marinated Roast Pork and my favorite baked potatoes. I will posts more pictures of Kim’s quilts later.

Machine Applique on a striped background

I like the quilting along the stripes, simple but effective.

I love the simple quilting detail of stitching along the striped background.


Circle Applique


I love Circle / Curved blocks, but I have only made one or two. I think I would like to make this quilt in my signature CRAZY BRIGHTS. I LOVE the details of the big stitch quilting in the circles.

Love the BIG STITCH quilting details
Wall hanging using Kim's fabric line.
Close up of machine applique using Kim's fabric line.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

