Lost BLOG post… Christmas in July Retreat


I finally found the word document and pictures I had gotten ready to post about our mini Retreat.  …  I had a FABULOUS  TIME … quilting and eating and gabbing and sewing and eating some more. 

Christmas in July Mini Retreat:

Every July Elaine’s Quilty Shop host a Christmas in July Mini Retreat.  You are able to sign up ahead of time and join other quilters in a stress free, disturbance free environment.  We crank up the A/C to our comfort level, get out our supplies and sew away.  Some beautiful quilts are worked on.  Some items are brought in for show and tell.  We are offered a great discount on fabric.  This year it was a $1.00 off any fabric in the store,  and $2.00 off specially marked  Christmas fabrics.  Their Thimbleberries was also reduced to $5.00 a yard.  Needless to say some quilters went home with a much lighter pocket book.  But I was good I only bought some Christmas red and Christmas green fabric.  Those will go well with what I already have in my stash. 

Joyce brought in the first of her NINE PATCH series of quilts.  I can safely say this is the first of a series since she makes nine patches with 1-1/2 inch blocks like they are going out of style.  These are all from her scrap stash. At the end of her sewing sessions sewing up 9 patches.  She also says she does this when she is bored with TV, she will just sit and sew patches.   She has joined an exchange with other quilters and they periodically swap 3-1/2 inch finished blocks.  Joyce says her goal is to use up all her fabric.   I think she just might make it.  In the mean time she will have some beautiful quilts made.

Joyce's 3 INCH finsished NINE PATCH Wonder


Everyone worked on something.  You have seen my Four Patch Posies Kaleidoscope blocks  with the Hip to Bee Square setting on the previous post.  I am still working on that.  It does not look like I got much done but I was able to sew the first sashing on 30 blocks and that takes time.  I am in the process of squaring up my completed blocks then putting them on the design wall.  Then the fun will really begin…. designing.  

Claudia made the cutest purse for her Grand-daughter.  The fabric was from our UGLY FABRIC EXCHANGE.  This poor yardage went round and round the table till Claudia got it then she sat on it so no one else could take it from her.  I have posted a picture of the purse.  I am wondering what was so ugly about this fabric?  Claudia did a lovely job and I am sure her granddaughter all of 11 will love it.

The fabric nobody wanted turned into the PURSE EVERYONE MUST HAVE


This fabric was from the UGLY FABRIC EXCHANGE.  It had gone round and round and nobody but Claudia wanted it.  NOW everyone wanted to steal the tote after Claudia finished it !!

For dinner we had broasted chicken and pot luck fixings. … there is nothing like quilters cooking.  I gained 5 pound just smelling the goodies and I later ate my fair share.

Using up scraps... Lovely results

 

One of our show and tells…. Joyce is hiding behind the quilt.

One thought on “Lost BLOG post… Christmas in July Retreat

Leave a Reply

