Favorite Quilting Shop

Dang this WORD PRESS… I typed an entire blog and then it got erased… BUMMER!!!!!! 

  

Lets be honest… I do not think I have ever met a quilt shop I did not like!   But my favorite is Elaine’s Quilty Shop in Hadley Mi.  It is a small shop but it has pretty much every thing I need or they order it for you.  I spend waaaaayyyy tooooo much money there.   I have taken most of my classes from the quilt teacher there and believe me… Kay had her work cut out for her.  But I can now cut, sew and press accurately and my blocks are usually  exactly the size they need to be.  Kay has spear headed several block of the month clubs,  mystery quilts night and my favorite… CHRISTMAS IN JULY.  We abandon our families, shut off our phones and sit around working on projects, chatting with friends, eating great pizza … what could be better.    I have also signed up for NEW YORK BEAUTY later this month.  I am planning to use Wash Away Stablizer by CT to print my blocks with.  I am hoping to get away from tearing out the paper and I just heard about this method on THE QUILT SHOW.   

HERE ARE SOME PICTURES FROM THE SHOP:  

NOTIONS WALL

   

Books and patterns, galore!
Civil War, Reproduction, ThimbleBerries, and Floral, Florals, and Florals
  

30s, 40s and Aunt Gracies

Elaine’s Shop has a very strong traditional style and flavor.   She does carry the latest Moda with all those delicious charm pack, jelly rolls, turnover and layer cakes.  YUM, YUM.  

I finished the FAUX HAND QUILTING and the two fabric binding on my gift for baby Isabella.  I really like this technique for binding as the binding would have looked funny if I did it the standard method.   I will be shipping it off in the morning. 

Framed FOUR patch with Fussy Cut DIVAs IN TRAINING

I am proud of this little quilt.  I had won the Blotto Raffle for my guild and received 12 blocks.  I went nuts making more, than when I heard about the birth of little Isabella I had to make even more so I had enough blocks for this baby quilt and a large sofa throw.  I still have to put on the binding.   I machine pieced the blocks, had it machine quilted by Lisa Burmann Studios, but I hand quilted the Diva blocks… I really enjoyed it but do not look close at the hand quilting…  MY STITCHES ARE TOE HOOKERS… Thank Goodness Isabella has tiny toes.  Off in the mail the quilt goes… I am going to insure it.

TOTAL QUILTING TIME:  45 HOURS

PEICING…. 25 HOURS

FAUX HAND QUILTING 15 HOURS

SEWING THE BINDING ON 5 HOURS

Well good night to all and happy quilting…  Bed time for this tired girl.

 

Leave a Reply

