WHAT THE HECK is NONNIE DOING? FABRIC SOUP?

FABRIC SOUP

I am a pre-washer… I have heard that fabric does not NEED to be pre-washed but I know from experience that is not true. When ever I have a small amount of fabric (usually less than a yard) I want prewashed and ready to go I get out my old clean pot fill it with water stuff the fabric into it and bring it to a boil. I do use COLOR CATCHERS but sometimes I do not have any so I just add a few drops of DAWN DISH WASHING SOAP that prevents dye from resettling. Once the fabric has boiled I rinse the fabric, wring or spin dry then toss in the dryer (usually on it’s own.) Once dry the fabric is ready to use.

I do this because I have had several disasters with fabrics NOT prewashed. (I will update this site and put pictures of some of the disasters when I have taken them.) I just hate having my hard work ruined by dye run. I find the boiling of the fabric is quick and easy, sets the dyes and does nothing to the fabric ( no FADING has ever been noted.) I am usually boiling my fabric while I am cooking dinner. ( I use a lid to protect from accidental food contamination to my fabric pot.)

Anyways I thought I would add my thoughts to the pre-wash or no washing discussion.

Happy Quilting

Nonnie

references:
http://vickiwelsh.typepad.com/field_trips_in_fiber/2014/01/bleeding-quilts-please-read-this.html

http://vickiwelsh.typepad.com/field_trips_in_fiber/fix-bleeding-fabrics/

` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` ` `

Follow Me on Pinterest

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
@
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com
.

About nonniequiltingdreams
Contact me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

One Response to WHAT THE HECK is NONNIE DOING? FABRIC SOUP?

  1. Colleen says:

    I agree Nonnie. I have had one disaster when I didn’t pre-wash good quality LQS fabric. That was enough! I pre-wash everything. And almost every time, I see dye in the wash water, so I’m always glad I did.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

