NONNIE has been very bad !!!

NONNIE has been very BAD!!

Because we just bought a new wood floor and had it installed, I have been trying to be more frugal and not buy every quilt book I have wanted.  I did good for three months then last night in a fit of insomnia I came across the QUILT with the STARS at the Fons and Porter web site.  I watched the interviews with Lynne Hagmeier of KANSAS TROUBLE QUILTERS.

 http://www.fonsandporter.com/quilt-with-the-stars.html

http://www.ktquilts.com

I fell in love with Lynne’s new layering instead of piecing technique she uses with layer cakes ( 10 in,) charm squares ( 5in,) and various Jelly Rolls ( 2.5inch)  She is finding way to use all the pre cuts in an interesting way.  First of all I would say this is a bonanza technique for quilt shop owners and Moda… I foresee them selling more precuts.  I also think this will be a versatile technique that will explode in the future into all kinds of new patterns.  This technique and several new patterns are laid out in Lynne’s new book, LOOSE CHANGE.  What I like about the technique is that it is fast and easy allowing me to make new quilt tops faster with less work on my part.

http://www.ktquilts.com/shop/Books/p/Loose-Change-sku-KT-12100.htm

I loved every quilt in this book and see myself making several of them for baby gifts.  The only drawback I see is that lack of pre cuts because I am on a fabric diet but I see myself cutting and using patches from my fat quarter stash.  Yes, it will add work but I can get 10 inches and 5inch patches easily from my fat quarter collection.  I can then make my own coordination and kits for these quilts.  I will be posting the blocks / quilts as I go along.

Happy Quilting,

Nonnie

~~

Follow Me on Pinterest

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
@
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

About nonniequiltingdreams
Contact me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

One Response to NONNIE has been very bad !!!

  1. Colleen says:

    Thanks for the Quilting With the Starts link. I didn’t know about that. More videos to watch while I’m quilting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

