It is 3am so why am I awake????

It is 3 am (est) so why am I awake.  My darling grandson  had a night mare and woke up screaming.  He is now sleeping the sleep of the unconscious but I am wide awake and can not go back to sleep.. BUMMER!! So I decided to journal my FMQ adventures because this is basically what this blog is about. This little baby quilt will go live in Arizona with my nephew, his wife and their expected daughter. If I want to remember the lessons I learn in this quilt I have to record them here because I will probably never see the quilt once it is gone.

I was able to get some short quilting sessions in this week.  Each night after I came home and got some dinner on the table I was able to FMQ one of the small sheep borders.  Each session was about a hour before getting ready for bed.  I do not do my best quilting this late at night, but I have to do the quilting when I have some free time.  I find working in small time frames get the work done; but it does have some draw backs.   In this quilt I plan each border to have a slightly different motif, but if I wanted them all to be the same I would have some problems maintaining the same pattern in each border working the patterns on separate nights.  Since I did a new pattern every night I did not have to worry about consistency.

I wish I had placed a second layer of batting behind the little sheep as they would have looked very cute as a trupunto, but I opted not to do that. Each border has a slightly different FMQ motif in the background. Sewing in such a small scale was harder than I anticipated.     My hands tended to cramp a little as I worked so I had to shake them out to loosen my grip.  I had not noticed this problem when I worked on larger scale motifs.  Small scale FMQ is more forgiving if you break pattern… I dare anyone to find my mistakes.  The thin blending thread I chose to use makes it very hard to see errors.

On my last night I made a major mistake in my FMQ resulting in me spending part of my time picking out the stitches.  I now plan to pin my extra backing so I DO NOT sew it into my FMQ again.  I have done this before… YOU WOULD THINK I WOULD LEARN FROM THE FIRST TIME.

I will be journalling more as I finish each of the borders.  I am thinking a different motif in each section.  I hope you do not find it to boring but I want to write down what I have learned so I do not forget in the future.  I have been scouting out various motifs on FMQ BLOGS mostly Leah Day and Angela Walters and of course PINTEREST.  What would I do without PINTEREST?  I can mimic FMQ patterns but I am not to the point that I can design my own… I need all the inspiration I can get.

So sleep is finally coming to me.  Here is my first set of small border pictures.  Tomorrow I plan to do the larger borders.  I have no idea at this time what patterns I will do.

 

Swirls and Curls

Swirls and Curls

.
.

Swirls marked with CRAYOLA WASHABLE MARKERS

Swirls marked with CRAYOLA WASHABLE MARKERS

.
.

TINY BUBBLES

TINY BUBBLES

.
.

RICKY DOODLES

RICKY DOODLES

.
.

BIG BOO BOO-- sewed the side to the FMQ motifs...dumb

BIG BOO BOO– sewed the side to the FMQ motifs…dumb

.
.

HAPPY QUILTING
NONNIE
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Follow Me on Pinterest

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog

http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast
@
Links for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @NONNIE_P ….. @NONNIE_P

email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com
.
.

About nonniequiltingdreams
Contact me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

One Response to It is 3am so why am I awake????

  1. Debby says:

    Great work Nonnie, I’m sure it will be loved.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

