A discussion between friends about techniques.

I have spent the day quilting with my friend Roxy. We took pre-made four patches that I made last weekend for a charity quilt and she is helping me put together some quilts. We are also working on some of her projects. Currently we have an on going debate on how to properly assemble the blocks from the four patches. We both agree that CHUNKING is a must to avoid overly long seams. We are assembling the four patch blocks into a larger four patch section using sashing to connect the blocks. Here is what the debate is about…..

Traditonal center sashing technique

You will have to check the pictures to understand what I am discussing. Roxy and I frequently do the same block using different techniques. I originally introduced Roxy to quilting several years ago soon after I learned how to quilt. While she was working I taught her the basics of quilting. When she retired she got into quilting all the way. Taking classes non stop until she has gotten to the point she has taken more classes then I had. She recently got a long arm and is learning how to machine quilt.

Anyways, we would get together and make tops for gifts for family, friends and charity. Our hubbies are usually off doing their own things which may or may not include boating, fishing, going to the local fishing hunting store and stopping at a nearby watering whole to play pool.

But I digress… Roxy likes to assemble her blocks with sashing using an older traditional method of block assembly. Putting sashing between two blocks and then putting the sashing joining the two parts using the center setting stone in the middle. (See above picture.)

Updated PRE-sashed block techniques

I prefer the pre-sashing method I learned from Fons and Porter’s DVDs where you pre sash the blocks in part; making the sashing part of the block. (See the second picture) I feel my blocks remain truer and more in square. I also have less trouble with the setting stones. (Dark green patch between the white sashing.) I will say that when it comes time to sew the 16 patch sashed blocks together I usually have to use her method to connect the blocks into bigger sections.

The only reason we are debating this method is we ran into some problems assembling the quilt top, but we have correct that problem …. Just took some time with the seam ripper.

Anyways, out there in blogger land…. Which way to you prefer when you are assembling your patches into blocks then sashing them to assemble the quilt top. Why does it work best for you?


Happy quilting to all….
Nonnie

P.S. If you are wondering how I could be so rude as to blog when I am with a friend, she is catching up on report she needs for the organization she is now working for. She retired from a paying job and now volunteers, instead. Well bedtime soon… so I am off to bed.

http://nonniequiltingdreams.wordpress.com/ Nonnie’s Blog


http://nonniesquiltingdreams.podbean.com/ Nonnie’s Quilting Dream Podcast


Pod cast link for Nonnie’s Quilting Dreams


email me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

About nonniequiltingdreams
Contact me at: nonniequiltingdreams@gmail.com

3 Responses to A discussion between friends about techniques.

  1. Pingback: Charm pack quilt tutorial « TeresaDownUnder

  2. Nonnie, I find the first method to be less confuising. But one thing is for sure, those dark corner stones make that top. Love the look of that.

    • Susan I think the reason we like the first technique is because it is the traditional technique. For me it was the first technique I learned. I know for me I did not learn the FONS AND PORTER pre-sashing method until several years later. To me I think it keeps the block square. I do know it took a while to learn it. I like the fact there are fewer long seams as a result when assembling. I find short seams sew straighter and go together easier than long seams.

      I like a lot of the CONTEMPORARY / MODERN techniques that are now being taught. I figure I can use traditional when that works best and faster modern technique when those are called for.

      Happy Quilting

      Nonnie
      .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers